Our log home welcomes some loving care near the village of Wakefield, Quebec, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 7 fois
  • Activité récente: 9 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Renny and I live on an old farm with about 230 acres of bush and a few fields. We moved here about ten years ago and don't farm, but we do have a serious vegetable garden and are busy with other projects like trail making, wood cutting, and fixing up our old log house . We live in an area about one hour north of Ottawa and about 15 kms from the charming village of Wakefield. We live in an old log house with a lot of repairs needed. Our goal is to make the place more welcoming so that others can come and enjoy the outdoor experience.

    Our guests would stay in a private simple cabin that we built a few years ago with no running water or electricity. It has an outdoor fire pit, and is fully equipped with bedding and kitchen They would use the outhouse we built, or come to the house for showers and washroom . It is about ten minutes walk from our house in the woods and about 200 meters from a small wild lake where you can swim and use a canoe. It is truly an outdoor wonderland and is the best way to experience nature and it is a good opportunity to meet wildlife.

    We have friendly neighbours and enjoy socializing . I work in Ottawa three days a week and Renny is self employed.. We have a wonderful dog and a very sweet cat. We speak English at home and are fairly comfortable in French.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    they would learn about life in rural Canada and the joys of living in the deep woods beside nature . They would learn about gardening and outdoor chores.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would like to have help with indoor and outdoor projects. Indoor painting, chinking in between the logs of our house ( inside and out,) trail cutting, raft building and gardening etc. Some of the work may require good physical fitness and a comfort in being in the outdoors. It may be buggy and hot. As we do work sometimes outside the home, there would be times when volunteers would be left to finish tasks etc independently, but other times we would work alongside with them.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private simple wood cabin with a sleeping loft for two and some basic cooking facilities but no electricity or running water. Washing water will come from a rain barrel outside the cabin and drinking water from our house about ten minutes walk away. Outhouse close to cabin and access to shower and flush toilets at our house. We could sometimes eat meals together but also volunteers would have some independence and could eat at the cabin sometimes .We eat mainly, but not completely, vegetarian meals. We have excellent internet at our house and travelers are welcome to use this as needed.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The Village of Wakefield is about 15 kms away on a dirt road and we have bikes to loan. It is a small and pretty village with lots going on as it is a creative and artistic community. There is a bus service about ten kms away that goes into Ottawa. There is also a possibility of ride shares etc and the neighbours also offer rides on occasion.

    This is the first time we have used volunteers but as there is a lot of labour intensive work to do, this seems like a good idea.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    it would be helpful to have your own vehicle while staying at our place but it is not essential.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    we are dog lovers and so dogs are welcome. they an run free here

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 973479944766

Photos

Feedback

I am looking for paid help with cabins & archery range on the Cabot Trail, Nova Scotia!
Sunshine Coast adventure for outdoor enthusiast in Sechelt, Canada