Help us start and care for an off-grid farm in Kakuåsen, Sweden

Country

Suède

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 26 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.09.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    432

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the end of 2021 we moved to an abandoned farm in northern Sweden, 90km north of Östersund. The house stands by a lake, all by it self. There is 1 km up to the village Kakuåsen where about 30 people live. The farm is 22 hectars (54 acres) with forest and fields. Our dream is to create a huge permaculture garden with en outdoor kitchen and beautiful greenhouses, reusing old windows.

    So, who are we? We are Christofer and Åsa. Christofer (33) comes from a world of computers and IT-security but now his big interest is building and repairing old houses using traditional tools and only natural materials. He loves woodcarving and dreams of working in the forest with horses. Åsa (28) studies medicine in Östersund (where she also stays for most of the weekdays) and her big interest is baking and gardening. She loves everyday routines like getting wood and water and dreams of a huge garden with lots of flowers. A cat, five sheep and several chickens also live on the farm and we are expecting a child in January.

    Together we work for having a self-sustainable life and spend a lot of time on the kitchen sofa, solving crosswords and reading about gardening and building. Before we moved to Kakuåsen we lived about 300km east in a village where we had a 200m2 garden and collected skills for being able to start this kind of farm. Our goal is to be self sufficient but we know it is a long, long way there.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    There is a lot of wonderful opportunities here for learning about gardening, building and animal care. Maybe you want to try out the off-grid living, or you long for the calmness of nature or the love from a community.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need people who can work together with us and other volunteers but also who can take initiative and be creative to solve things on their own. We are quite new to a lot of things as well and might not always have an answer. A lot of the help will be gardening but we also appreciate help with renovating, building cottages for volunteers and guests (non-paying) and preparing fire wood for the winter. We will try to make the days as appreciative as possible for you and request in return a good, helpful and patient attitude. Our wish is to create an experience that is rewarding for you and a relationship where we can talk to each other if any of us need something or if something is not working out.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are different kind if accommodations available - if we have come there in the renovation project there might be a room in the house empty, there is also some small cottages on the land and if you want you can lend a tent. We will be camping some part of the year as well.
    Some things that are important to understand is that there is no water, plumbing or electricity. The farm has been empty for around 60 years and the buildings have not really been cared for. We will look so you can get a car-battery where you can charge your phone but you need to carry the water you need from the lake or the well and carry in the fire wood you need. There will be an outdoor toilette you can use. We have no WiFi but there is cell-phone reception. This is the same standard as we have of course. Feel free to ask if you have some questions about this.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your spare time you can go hiking, fishing on the lake, canoeing (we have a canoe to lend out), visit Östersund or go up in the mountains or to Norway (which is just 2 hours away). Driving license is not a "must" but that, and having a car, might make your stay here easier if you don't want to adjust to our or the bus schedule.

    We eat mostly vegetarian food (if the meat is not from our farm, the river or forest) and we appreciate if you can be too while staying with us, but it is not a must.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week.



N° de référence hôte : 967251844632