Help with some off grid projects at my forested homestead in the White Mountains in Bethel, Maine, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 9 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.07.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!. I’m a former trail worker/ traveller. I own a small forested plot about 2 miles from the Main Street of Bethel, Maine. I’ve done quite a few worktrades around the country and a little in Europe. I’ve had good and bad hosts so I know what you Traveler’s go through! I will strive to be a warm and welcoming host. I have 2 bicycles that you can use and I will invite you to all my recreational activities/ parties I go to!!! Also, have you ever had a host so young (27)!??!!!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will meet other offgridders and trail workers. As a result you will learn a lot about camping, backpacking, foraging, herbalism etc.. I encourage creativity and will help you with any project of your own as well.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I hurt my shoulder really bad and need help with everything. I’m trying to make my land as self sufficient as possible. I have extensive trail work knowledge which perfectly translates over to an off grid lifestyle. I have a lot of experience with the following( and need help!):

    -Cutting trees large and small with chainsaw or axe
    -Bucking trees and splitting firewood
    -Earth and tread work including building rock staircases, drainage structures and retaining walls. By hand!
    -I built my own small house! I need help finishing it. This includes siding, insulating and interior finish work.

    A lot of work will also involve building small structures with the native timber (pavilion, shed, wood storage, open to more ideas!). I have a small chainsaw mill and a decently powerful chainsaw that I haven’t had much time to tinker with. Would love to get it going efficiently.

    I also have a few creative projects and ideas going on. I will be making a sort of stained glass window for my house, a pizza oven, a small wood heated hot tub and other crafts such as candle making.

    I plan on making a garden this year. The size of it will depend on how much help I get!

    *At the moment I am limited with what I can do. Simple chores are a bit tough for me right now and would like some help with that too.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I know some Spanish. Hardly enough though. Would love to learn more

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Located in Bethel, Maine! Good cell reception if you have Verizon or a carrier that uses their towers. I have a laptop too if you need to borrow it (I can set up a hotspot).

    Camping/ limited solar electricity (enough to charge your phone). Drinking water is retrieved from local springs.

    I have an outdoor shower set up with hand carried water from a spring fed pond. It’s usually cold.

    No toilets. However, I have a bin composting system worked out that is, in my opinion, nicer than an outhouse. You need to be tough. Lots of bugs during the summer including ticks.

    I have a few spots to pitch a tent. If you don’t own a tent I have one and can get more. Van lifers are encouraged. I have many places to park.

    I enjoy community meals. But it is not necessary if you aren’t into it. I will supply a lot of bulk items but if you want something of your own (fruit or perishable) then there is a grocery store a few miles away. I can give you rides.

    If there is anything thing you think my property needs don’t be shy and let me know. We can work together to get the item affordably (or make it!). I will pay for it of course.

    My friend Sarah will also be part time living in her large tent on a platform we made last summer. You can get to know her as well. She’s a great resource, reliable person and works for one of the mountain clubs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Smack in the middle of the White Mountain National Forest on the western edge of Maine. There are many hiking opportunities and I also plan on helping the people hiking the Appalachian trail (host bbqs for them/free rides/hopefully parties).

    Plenty of places to swim (think waterfalls/cliff jumping). Secret spots and public.

    I have a few friends that rock climb and mountain bike if you are into that. I can’t with my shoulder but will happily link you with them. There are biking trails a mile from my house and I have an old bike you can use as well.

    There are multiple rivers and lakes in the area and I own two old plastic canoes that can be taken on rocky water! If you wanted we can take a trip!

    I plan on going gem hunting and searching old abandoned places as well. Lots of adventures.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Any size

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    ~4 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 965357779542