Sustainable living experience on a smallholding in rural Aberdeenshire, Scotland, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 634 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    111  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.09.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    188

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I used to live in London, where we worked for many years. We had always wanted to leave the city and move to Scotland where we spent most of our holidays and live a more sustainable life. In 2011 we made the move. We live in a spacious old farmhouse and have around 13 hectares of land. The area is stunningly beautiful. The climate is the driest in Scotland. The air is clean and it is wonderfully tranquil. If you love the countryside and animals then this is the place to be.

    My husband and I have travelled a great deal for work and leisure. I grew up in Africa and have lived in many countries all over the world. We love meeting new people from different countries and sharing the knowledge we have gained. Even where we are living now we have several international friends.

    We have spent the last few years undertaking major work in the house and also in the gardens. We have achieved a great deal in a very short time. Living on a small holding and having livestock means that we have to work hard and we are always forced to learn. We also have larger projects where extra helping hands are required. We would like to welcome Workaways to our home to learn more about sustainable living and share in their experiences as well.

    Our donkeys Raffles and Harry arrived in 2015 and they have settled in very quickly and are a delight. They used to work on the east coast of England giving children rides at the beach. We hope to use them to help us when we coppice our hazel woodland, carrying small loads of logs up to the house. Harry and Raffles have now fully bonded with us and we have undertaken some training with them, getting them used to wearing their new pack saddles and going for short walks. Harry was diagnosed with Cushings disease last year and has responded very well to medication. In donkeys Cushings can cause lots of abscesses and poor Harry had more than his fair share. As a consequence we were unable to undertake any meaningful training with him or Raffles. We hope that this year we can resume their training once more.

    We used to have a small flock of Jacob sheep for their fleece, but I took the decision a few years back to sell some of them. We are now down to five sheep, two Jacob and three Suffolk Mules. These are largely used for grazing management. However, I will continue to use the unwanted fleeces of other Jacob owners to produce my knitting yarn and we have historically enjoyed strong wool sales.

    We have a small flock of hens. The younger ones are laying well, but the older ladies tend to lay more sporadically. For the ladies who do not lay anymore, of which there are quite a few, they will be allowed to live out their days, as they have worked hard producing eggs for us and they deserve to enjoy a relaxing retirement.

    This summer has been so challenging. It has been warm and we have had had extended periods of drought. After last year's drought, when we had no grass to feed our sheep and donkeys, this year we have had a reasonable amount of grass. This has made maintaining our donkeys' weight very challenging. Donkeys gain weight much more easily than horses and, of course, this is bad for their health. We hope that during this coming winter we will be able to slowly get them back into shape.

    We have also had a slow start to the vegetable and fruit growing season, but things have now romped away and we have been enjoying the fruits of our labours with some bumper crops. We have been busy preserving the glut.

    On a positive note, we have taken a small paddock below our house and we are in the process of creating a bee and butterfly garden with some edibles, designed using permaculture principles. The garden has come on by leaps and bounds. Far from finished, but you can already see that the bees and butterflies are benefiting immensely.

    We began hosting workaways over seven years ago and we have loved every minute of it. We have met many wonderful people, learned so many new things and made lots of new friends along the way.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Gardening and permaculture skills
    Animal husbandry
    Life skills for running a smallholding
    An insight into living in Scotland

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with moving and stacking chopped wood. Assistance with mending fences around our small smallholding. Help cleaning out our chickens, collecting eggs and feeding our hens. Help with our sheep and cleaning out their field shelter. Help with managing our stable yard. We also require help with garden maintenance and growing lots of vegetables. We grow all our plants, including flowers from seed. We have a large house and would appreciate some help weekly with the cleaning.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Swedish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a small cottage adjacent to the main house. This has two double bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with two singles. There are two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen/diner and sitting room. We will provide all your food and will be able to provide enough outdoor work for five hours per day, Monday through Friday. Thereafter, breakfast will continue to be provided in the cottage each day and Monday to Friday you will be given lunch and supper in the main house. On the weekends you will be expected to cook for yourselves in the cottage and we will provide you with the food. Bed linen and towels are provided, but you will be expected to launder these each week and keep the cottage clean.

    From the end of August 2022 accommodation will be provided in the main house, as the cottage is being rented out. We have a double bedroom, a twin room and bathroom. We sleep downstairs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live on a smallholding (small farm) in rural Aberdeenshire. We have chickens, a small flock of Jacob sheep and we now have two donkeys to help us to coppice our small woodland. We grow a great deal of our food and love being outdoors. For us it is a way of life. We also have three dogs who live in the house, so whoever came to live with us would have to be comfortable around dogs. The dogs would not have access to your accommodation upstairs.

    In your free time there are loads of wonderful walks you can take directly from our smallholding. Our smallholding is situated above a river valley in a beautiful area. We have a wide range of maps of the local area that you would be free to borrow. You will have the use of two bicycles to use locally or we would be happy to give you a lift into the local town, (five miles distant). We go into town several times per week, including Saturday. From the local town you can catch a bus to travel to Aberdeen, Inverness or further afield. We would obviously be happy to pick you up again on your return and bring you home. Both cities have great amenities with a good variety of retail outlets, cinemas, arts and cultural venues. For example there is the most amazing bookshop in Inverness in an old converted chapel. We also live very close to Speyside, which is the home to whisky production. There are lots of distilleries and most open their doors to visitors providing tours. We live five miles from the coast and there are lots of quaint old fishing villages, some with lovely beaches.

    N.B. Please remember that if you are from outside the European Union and planning to visit the UK as a volunteer and not as a tourist you will need the correct visa. To find out more information you need to contact the British Embassy or Consulate in your home country before travelling to the United Kingdom. Failure to do so could result in deportation.

    Currently travel restrictions into the UK remain in force due to the pandemic.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a small car park where a small campervan or motorhome can be parked.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






























































N° de référence hôte : 959988866121