Join our happy family in Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 2249 fois
  • Activité récente: 26 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    ===============
    Update: we are looking for help starting June 5th. We are due with our sixth baby end of July/beginning of August and would to not transition during mid july- mid Aug. Perhaps june5-july 5th and July 5th-sept 5th would be ideal. We are looking to host two girls at this time. Or a couple.
    ===============
    ***We are not asking for help with caring for our children.
    **"If you write us, please tell us why you are interested in a cultural exchange with us specifically.

    Aloha! We are Matt and Noelle with 5 kids under 12 and a bun in the oven! Matt grew up in the Philippines so felt at home when he moved to big island. Noelle was born and raised on Kauai, got her degree in California and travelled abroad, living in Italy 6 months, new Zealand 6 months and other places) before moving to the big island. We have a family bakery cafe business in town ( inspired by living in Europe with fresh organic sourdough, croissants, coffee...), but we are not asking for work at our business, rather an exchange on the home front. :)

    We are a homeschooling family. Our kiddos are super sweet and just wonderful (no bias!) We love living as creatures in God's beautiful jungle here in Puna on the big island. We enjoy music, singing, community, cooking (and baking of course), natural health, Lego creations, reading good living literature, ocean play, working outside and meeting new people- to name a few!

    We have very much enjoyed hosting people from around the world in the past and look forward to welcoming you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If time allows and you ask me, we can show you sourdough baking as well as other natural fermenting like kim Chee. Practical herbalism and knowledge of local Hawaiian plants. Please don't be shy to ask!
    Experience the blessing of joyful children and funny kid conversation. We are musical and sing and play guitar. Learning violin and piano as well.
    We are very busy and value our individual family space, but will be happy to help you in everyway we can!

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are busy with work and more importantly investing in and raising our five children. We love the cultural exchange and look forward to getting to know you!

    There will be food available in the kitchen in your place for you to eat and cook for yourself. Specifically, organic eggs, organic sourdough bread, butter,jelly, organic peanut butter, bean,rice, some veggies, some fruit, salt, pepper, local honey, coffee and tea. Of course you can also buy other food items you may need.

    Preference is given to those able to rent a car. (highly recommended)

    Some days we will do housework, maintain and expand our garden beds, permaculture food forest landscaping , composting, animal care, dog walking, help with food preparation, various household tasks, and open to what your unique skills are!


    Experience the beautiful hawaiian green jungle (note: rainy, but warm) in our Puna district of Hawaii!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your own bedroom or shared bedroom

    Things to bring or buy first day to make it comfier/easier for you:

    Earplugs/white noise machine if you are a light sleeper
    Sunscreen and bug spray as you are in the tropics
    Closed-toed shoes but also flip flops (we call them slippahs here)
    Shorts with elastic band for ease of movement
    Sunhat if you want.
    Thick garden gloves for yard work
    Light rain jacket in winter (we live in wet jungle)
    US sim card if your phone is foreign. Walmart carries them here on the island
    Your personal soap, shampoo, conditioner etc

    This is rural off the beaten path Hawaii, NOT touristy, no night life, not beaches everywhere or resorts with drinks on the sand. This is a special kind of wild West place in the lush green lava rock ground jungle. Streets are often
    Dirt roads in neighborhoods, no street lights, perfect for star gazing! Coqui frogs sing every. Night and lovely "bird-like" song. Puna area is a special place. Fast growing as it has much land availability for purchase and many want to live a more sustainable life! If you are looking to slow down and have time to listen to birds (or frogs) sing, drink herbal tea and journal, work on personal hobbies and do some exploring on the weekends, this would be a place to consider.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Some places of interest near us. Kahena black sand beach (by car 15 min, free bus 1 hour), 20 min drive to the newest lava beach on Earth (!!!!) and geothermal hot ponds for swimming.
    Pahoa Village is our town. The old village has a health food store, kava kombucha bar, organic sourdough bakery, Thai, Hawaiian fusion, pizza and some shops. It is not a touristy place, but there are many travelers working on farms
    Hilo is 30min drive (one hour bus ride) and has local farmers market, lots of cute shops, restaurants near the bus stop downtown along the ocean). In Hilo there are many water entry places like Richardsons beach, carl-smith beach, Honolii (surf spot). Hilo also has waterfalls (drive only), botanical gardens (drive). And beautiful parks to walk in. Kona 2 hours by car or 3.5 hours by bus. Some have caught the bus to Kona on the weekends and stayed at a hostel while visiting the downtown Kona touristy spots along Ali'i drive. Volcano town, where the national park is, is 1 hour.by car (and longer by bus!) .

    There is a bus that picks up close and goes around island, but does not come frequently and requires walking to places of interest. There are so many things to see! Volcano national park, Kona beach camping, Mauna kea, old time cowboy country of waimea, South point, green sand beach, manta ray snorkel experience, waterfalls. You will need to rent a car to get to most of these places. Most people take the bus into Hilo or down to kahena Beach during the week and rent a car on the weekends. Check out the hele on bus schedule

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 hours a week

N° de référence hôte : 958495456476

Feedback (27)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



































Join our family of four and help with our garden in a small Oregon town in the gorgeous Columbia River Gorge, Oregon, USA
Join a mindful permaculture community in the beautiful Berkshires, USA