Live and Work our Permaculture Farm in Nimbin, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 562 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.08.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    1516

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 46 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is a queer-bent, anarchist-leaning, ego-transformative farming project started in 2012 just outside the town of Nimbin. It is a 100 acre property beneath the Nimbin rocks. We are currently a heavy-gardening, animal-raising, experimental building, permaculture planning collective of two with a lot of goals and projects in various states of completion, and we'd love some help!

    It has been home to lots of people who transit here while on their own journey of life. A lot of these have been wonderful experiences of people spending time and working on the land, reconnecting with nature and living in a community. This is a place for people to join our efforts in caring for the land and its inhabitants while also getting involved in the ways they feel drawn to. Being a home for Animals means that anything can happen at anytime and may require assistance in these times of need, so we need a certain amount of flexibility in our guests.

    We have a mostly biodynamic/organic vegetarian diet with the occasional addition of home-killed or road killed meat which we butcher ourselves (no abbatoir meat please!). We have extensive gardens and we predominantly eat from them. Right now (December 2020) we have a tonne of kale, cucumbers, zucchini (corgette) and we have just harvested our first successful gorgeous garlic crop! We also have a legal hemp crop (low CBD) which we are hoping to harvest in April/May.

    We have a number of options for places to stay, but we are able to accomodate most people who are used to travelling and camping. We have no flushing toilets, only composting.

    Look forward to hear from you!

    David and Roisin

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Loads of skills and mad projects on the burn here. We have been living in this shared experimental community for 8 years, we offer to share our experience and knowledge of permaculture, biodynamics and community-reliance. We love sharing meals.

    We consider each exchange to be unique therefore we feel the arrangement we agree upon is found through meeting and talking with you. We hope the land will provide you with most of your fresh vegetables and occasional meat. We would like to provide dry foods/staples.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    It is home to 3 cows, 4 ponies, 2 pigs (3 piglets) and 10 chickens. All of these animals undergo rotation with the goal of improving our soil and pastures while keeping our animals healthy with fresh food! they are also part of our regenerative efforts to clear invasive species and replace it with productive and beneficial alternatives for a more vibrant and stable community dynamic.

    One of our biggest visions is to grow lots of food; to feed ourselves, our community and our animals. we have lots of gardens and potential for lots more! With the help of our animals and our homemade composts.

    These are the areas that require a lot of our time, effort and creativity.

    Food growing, includes making compost, collecting mulch, watering, feeding plants, weeding, raising seedlings (nursery work), forming beds and biodynamic preparations.

    Animal caring, includes setting up temporary cells to move animals into, feeding chickens and pigs, making sure animals have water, checking and removing ticks and loving interactions!!

    General Maintenance and Construction of sheds and shelters.
    Irrigation is a never ending project and a great skill to learn.

    We are starting our first large scale crop this summer with biodynamics and minimal soil disturbance (ALMOST no-till).
    We would also like your help to put in food forests and to assist in improving our current systems and processes with your ideas and fresh energy.

    All help is welcomed!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Self-contained caravan - fully equipped with hot water, gas and electricity. There is also an undercover (but without walls) kitchen and dining space. The toilet is a shared composting toilet and a fire heated shower (worth the effort). Our drinking water is from the sky and our non-drinking water is from our dams.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 5km from the alternative hub of Nimbin.
    We live on a beautiful 100ac farm with orchards, gardens, dams and creek for swimming, forest to explore. There are waterfalls and national parks very close. we are also just 1hr 15 minutes from byron bay.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    24 hrs per week, 2 days off






N° de référence hôte : 935698945399