Learn about Macadamia trees, gardening, painting and general maintenance 45 minutes south of Auckland, NZ



Enregistré comme favori 261 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We live on a small holding a short distance from Pukekohe and we have macadamia trees and the nuts need harvesting in the late winter and early spring.

    We have Kunekune pigs and a few sheep and chickens and they all have a job to do keeping the orchard clean and free of pests.

    I am also a puppy walker for the Blind Foundation of NZ.

    We expect four hours help in exchange for board lodging and fun. Minimum stay one week.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have wonderful conversations at the dinner table each day. We are good teachers of English and Virginia is a good cook and will teach cooking if required. We have lived in NZ for 40 years and can explain some of the nuances of Kiwi expressions and point you in the direction for various activities. You can learn about macadamia growing, harvesting and processing.

    We have both been in the health profession for many, many years. Charles has a hobby building and flying model planes, Virginia is very involved with an international organisation. We are volunteers with a blind foundation and often have guide dogs here for short periods while the guardians are on holiday or if the dog is having a change of career and waiting for a placement. We have raised two successful Guide Dogs.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Harvesting nuts in the late winter, early spring, pruning trees, gardening, painting, general maintenance.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Accommodation is separate from the main house, one room with a double bed, second room with two single beds with electric blankets in winter.

    Internet is available in the main house, although we ask that you do not download music or films as it uses up our monthly data excessively. There is free internet at the library for this, if required.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 45 minutes south of Auckland by car and on the railway line between Auckland and Wellington. Pukekohe has a heated swimming pool, Les Mills Fitness centre , The soccer team is always looking for more players, The Pukekohe Tramping club will often take visitors with them on hikes. We have had over 300 helpers so have gleaned a lot of knowledge and it has been a win/win situation for us all! We prefer to host people who have a bit of life experience and have been out of school for 5 years. I am reluctant to take vegetarians as more thought has to go into creating a good balanced diet and I tend to focus on a mixed diet, but we do not eat a lot of meat.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day,

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 932642291827