Help at our watermill up the river from Mont Saint Michel, Rimou, Brittany, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 16 fois
  • Activité récente: 1 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are Garry and Luci offering a self contained accommodation, in our old pigsty. We moved here in 2015 to continue renovating our abandoned watermill, by taking early retirement in our 50’s, which is now nearing completion having done most of the work ourselves, some on a quick learning curve!, but we need help with some landscaping, building stone work and other labour, however, if a couple is interested we also have garden duties like mowing, stimming and weeding etc. Currently we are looking for help, for up to two weeks.
    On the flip side we have an abundance of wildlife and nature to enjoy, including our 2 dogs Mistok and Pearl, both rescues, and Pearl loves a game of football. We are a small rural village ( Rimou) with no shops, but they are only 5 minute drive away. Our surroundings are ideally suited for artists, photographers and writers or those that just want to dose to the sound of running water with a beer or glass of win in hand!
    Your accommodation is self contained and we can fill your fridge to your liking should you wish your own space or eat at a different time to us otherwise we can eat together inside or out, please note we are happy to cook Monday to Friday, but weekend are self catering food provided as this is normally your free time

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are located on the river Couesnon, for which we have a boat for exploring, but you will not reach the sea in it, but it’s only a 30 minute drive away and the coat has many interests including Mont saint Michel.You also have with in an hours drive Rennes, st Marlo, Dinan and Fougères which are beautiful and full of historical interest, lots of interesting French food including Cancale which is famous for its sea food and Oysters.
    If you have a keen interest in water mills we can arrange visits to other local mills including a working flour mill and others under various states of renovation.
    As long as you have some English language we will help with your English and of course any more French is welcome

  • Aide

    Aide

    Regarding the work we are looking for, our immediate project are some retaining walls constructed from blocks, which will then need filling with concrete, once it has been mixed, this will be physical work, but I manage ok so I’m sure it’s not too bad,but it’s a good work out.
    I also have a reclaimed stone arch which needs reassembling, the former is done, but that’s the easy bit!
    There are often other jobs like getting trees out of the river or recovering and moving blocks of stone, always wood to deal with one way or another, and if required lighter duties can entail mowing, stimming and weeding. We need to be a bit flexible as this work is weather dépendant so none working days may need to move about to facilitate the work

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A self contained house comprising a Double bedroom with ensuite shower and toilet, lounge area with UK tv and exaltant Wi-Fi, kitchen with fridge/freezer microwave and gas cooker/oven there’s also a washing machine and dishwasher, if you give us an idea what you like to cook we can fill your store and fridge ready for your visit, not forgetting those beers and win of course

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Your own transport is required as every thing is a drive away albeit a short one, we have two dogs who are no trouble, but Pearl does like to help with any jobs and will give lots of kisses if your not quick

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Having your own gaité makes working if required, easy and when you want to work

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate camper van up to 7m

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Make sure we talk about this if your interested in staying with us

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 926416626786

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Exchanges in everyday life, practice of French, discovery and practice of ceramics in the Val de Saône, France.
Rejoignez-nous dans un château de la Loire romantique et donnez-nous un coup de main avec nos chevaux, France