Help with Permaculture and renovation project in Lower Normandy, France

Country

France

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 40 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and use or develop your skills with us developing a permaculture site. We live on an old farm with lots of space and we are renovating the house and barns and developing the land. Its calm, peaceful and has lots of potential.

    We have nearly completed work on the house and have started work on some of the barns. We are developing the site to an overall plan to reduce our environmental impact and build self sufficiency . Our plan includes expanding our poly tunnels and planting a variety of plants and trees to create an edible landscape. We have a pig, chickens and goat, as well as our very friendly dog and cat!

    Our present focus is to get into our house before winter, start to roof the barns and continue to develop a sustainable landscape. Reducing our impact on the environment is important to us so we are learning what we can do to reduce our "footprint" so we are keen to learn from others expertise and experience. We are keen to up and recycle as much as possible so creative ideas are welcome.

    We are friendly and open and like the simple things in life - good company, homemade food and a beer, especially round a good fire under the stars. If you feel you would fit in and would like to share your experiences and skills then we would love to stay and help us so we can help others!

    Hope to meet you soon !

    Niki and Dom

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are an open and friendly family with lots of interests and skills. We are looking for volunteers who are happy to get involved, share their skills and ideas and like being around children.

    We love cooking and sharing new recipes and trying new foods, we like a wide range of music and sharing ideas about the World. Dom is a bit of a buff on Military History and I enjoy yoga and cooking.

    We eat both non and vegetarian foods.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have our "Projects Wall List" that helps to to prioritize jobs and tasks but there is room for you to choose a specific activity or task you would like to work on and can even be achieved during your stay!

    Some of our projects include:-

    Building raised beds out of stone for vegetable and herb growing

    Creating edible "pockets" across the site

    Helping to pick fruit and veg and preserving for winter

    Help with land clearing - stones, brambles at the back of the house

    Rebuilding part of the stone wall using traditional techniques

    Pointing and rendering using traditional methods - house, old bakery

    Small to larger building projects using recycled materials where possible and up cycling projects.

    Help out / share cooking and tidying up

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English and (improving) French

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Caravan and camper van (both undercover) and comfortable for sleeping in. You can also pitch a tent if you wish. There is a shared area for making teas, coffees and snacks and a communal area for relaxing and playing pool, listening to music etc. We have a bathroom with shower on site and we use dry toilets / compost toilets. We have internet access / computer access. We also have regular get togethers with a cool group of friends on site so plenty of opportunity to meets with others, practice language exchange and share ideas!

    Smoking outside sleeping areas please.

    We ask 5 hours daily in the week. Friday mornings is site tidy day and the weekends are your own for exploring the area / chilling!!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are about 4.5 kms from the nearest town with a variety of amenities and 15kms from Avaranches with bars, cafes, resturants etc

    We have 2 bicycles available for your use and can collect from bus / rail stations in Avaranches.

    There are lots of activities you can do around the area - canoeing, cycling, swiming, walking, fishing, microlites, horse riding to name a few.

    We are 45 mins from Le Mont Saint Michel, about 1.5 hours from the Normandy Beaches.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Pick a project!
Part of the garden
Niki, Dom and Finn
Baby Chicks 2019
Einstein our dog and Stinky the goat
Peaches the pig
Top of our road
One of the veggie beds
Elvis - our cockeral
Firepit at sunset
Part of garden
Veggie garden

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 918567367712