Help with our DIY barn build & woodland restoration project in Totnes, England



Enregistré comme favori 668 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

  • Description


    Barn Building & Woodland Help.
    Hands on Journey into barn-building and woodland skills.

    Some experience / enthusiasm & practical skill is necessary.

    This is 46 acres of ancient woodland and organic pasture on Dartmoor National Park, South Devon. We like to engage the community in caring for the land and host occasional events and activities (Covid has limited this).

    This is a unique opportunity to join the team (ideally for longer than 1 month - with Covid we are suggesting 2months minimum) to be part of our amazing team. We’ve been building 3 barns in a (long) year & now completing them - still loads to get done as well as woodland work including coppicing and felling & extracting diseased larch trees.

    This is a magical hidden valley on the southern edge of Dartmoor. Ecologically diverse, beautiful, and close to South Brent & Totnes. On site are 3 barns, a small workshop, sawmill, a willow osier and produce for weaving willow, a sauna, lakes, and plenty of land to connect with.

    The host family (me, my wife, 2 young boys & baby girl) live a few miles away in a house, whilst volunteers stay out on the land in caravans (or tents when a big team) and look after the place day-to-day.

    Volunteers need to be responsible and willing to undertake agreed tasks safely and sensibly without supervision. We have a morning meeting each week to check in & get things started where your input is highly valued.

    Although we have connected to the grid with power in the barns, we are still a fairly low-impact set-up so you will need to be happy living in a simple way using solar power & spring water. It's not for the faint hearted and very close to nature.

    I provide simple food which together the team cooks in the kitchen - you let me know what you need for the weekly shop. This will be a mix of organic and non organic things.
    This autumn we will be finishing the 3rd barn - a big timber-framed straw bale insulated machinery store as well as other bits and bobs.

    As well as helping finish the work on our forestry barns you will help splitting and stacking firewood, and undertaking occasional other projects including gardening as we have started growing a lot of veg & salad.

    Every day we need to care for the chickens and ducks, and care for the veg patch & poly tunnel.

    Depending how long you stay you will probably experience everything it takes to fell and extract a tree, and help throughout the process. It is demanding and you will need to be fit, enthusiastic and responsible. If you can drive or use a chainsaw this is very helpful (you need a valid licence to be insured). Interest in eco-building and woodwork is very important during this time of barn-building.

    There are two lakes, a river, and beautiful organic pasture. Wood-fired sauna next to the lake, and a wood-workshop where you can take on some creative projects. Also a green wood space with pole-lathes etc.

    Look forward to hearing from you.
    All the best

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is up to you - some visitors get out and about and meet people - others get more from the woodland experience and immersion in nature.
    You will learn a lot from nature whilst working and living in the woods and be part of a close living / working team. You will be sent our welcome pack and agreements which give your more details on how we live and work together.
    Totnes is a cultural hub of the Transition movement - there is a LOT going on there, also lots of events in South Brent, Buckfastleigh and Ashburton. If you are happy to hitch or jump on a bus then you will find lots of 'culture' just on the doorstep.
    We have a young family so much time is spent with kids especially since Covid and taking them out of school!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Woodland help in ancient woodland... caring for chickens & all sorts of other tasks, varied and engaging including helping to mill timber on the sawmill, prepare firewood, and general land-management as well as a bit of veg growing for our own use.

    BARN BUILDING through 2021. If you have experience with tool use / carpentry then this will be very useful. If not then you need to be very keen to learn this and be involved in green build.

    Ideal for hard-working people with a love for the land and special places. It's extra-helpful if you have a driving licence and experience with practical work. The most important things is common sense and enthusiasm.

    We've been hosting volunteers for over 8 years through workaway and other hosting platforms. We try to have between 2 & 5 volunteers at a time although 2020 / 2021 we aim to host a bigger volunteer camp for people helping in the build process.

    You will be staying out on the land and cooking yourself (together with the team) so need to be self-reliant, responsible and have good common sense.

    Volunteering works out at about 4 days a week - unless you want to contribute more which during the barn-build we are likely to be wanting to do.

    We host volunteer weekends once a month... & occasional events like our easter egg hunt or friends weekend.

    Close to Dartmoor, the sea, and Totnes in South Devon - our woodland is a 35minute walk from the nearest town. We lie on cycle path number 2 & there's a bus to Plymouth / Totnes called Stagecoach Gold.

    Accommodation is in one of 2 caravans or a tent. There is 3g / 4g phone signal so you can get fast internet access through tethering with your phone.

    Clearing timber from hillside, carpentry, and timber production using mobile sawmill (Woodmizer LT15 & firewood processor).
    & LOTS of barn-building activity to be carried out.

    Get in touch if you want to get involved and help out in the woods.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Caravans with wood burning stoves. Shared cooking space in our newly built barn.
    Washing is a solar shower when the sun shines, a bucket shower & outdoor bath, or best of all the wood-fired sauna and a dip in the spring-fed lake. Whatever you fancy.
    Closest laundry is in Totne or when we are home we can wash clothes.. We are mostly willing to help & are friendly :)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The woods are a powerful place to stay, and although close to 2 small towns, cycle path & bus route, you get the feeling of being deeply immersed in nature.

    There is a workshop and an abundance of timber to create things from so you could polish up on some carving or making skills. Also loads of rusty tools to handle, sharpen etc etc. There is no shortage of things to do in your spare time, swimming, wandering, stalking, hunting, exploring Dartmoor, a nearby climbing wall, the sea... however if you don't like your own company and working as part of a team, then the woods probably are not the place for you.

    You need to be responsible and keen to live simply in an outdoor off-grid setting.

    A 35 minute walk to the nearest small town with 2 pubs and occasional music nights etc. and well connected on cycle paths. 20 minute walk to bus stop which connects well with Transition Town Totnes a vibrant market town and Plymouth city.

    If a keen cyclist you can get to the sea, or much easier up onto the Moor. However be warned, the hills in Devon are steep!

    A car does help with getting out and about but most visitors cycle.

    Sometimes we organise trips out with the host family or organize a gathering of friends on the land.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have no Internet out in the woods. Only 3G / 4g connection via dongle on phone. However this has worked for some people to be able to carry out their own online or design work when not actively working on the project :)

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Has to be discussed. Usually Fine.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have done but often choose not to because of livestock.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 912659156591