Help renovate cabin and garden in Rocky Mountains, USA - must love cats

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 160 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.10.2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our house is over 100 years old and situated in a national historic district in Manitou Springs, Colorado. It's a house with good bones on a unique lot and could benefit from some renovation. This summer we are primarily looking for help re-shingling our roof but there are also a number of ongoing projects for interested helpers. We will accept those without experience who are willing to learn new skills as well as experienced homeowners, carpenters, plumbers, electricians, etc.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Manitou is a small mountain town with lots to see including art galleries, a vintage arcade, and a haunted mansion. There is a weekly farmers market and drum circle during summer months, holiday parades in the winter, and always lot's of outdoor activities including hiking, camping, climbing, mountain biking, backpacking, and marathon training. Athletes come from all over the world to train on Barr Trail and the Manitou Incline and most run by our house on the way to the trailheads from the parking areas near Manitou Avenue.

    We live on the border of Pike National Forest in the Rocky Mountains with back-yard access to trails which are stunningly beautiful and challenging. We are happy to lead hikes of various lengths (for trips over 6 miles we ask for a fee); workawayers can enjoy a prepared lunch on the trail and learn basics of back-country backpacking.

    We are interested in learning new crafts and being exposed to new activities. In exchange, hobbies we can share include knitting, embroidery, textile arts, wood burning, drawing/painting, yoga, music/percussion.

    If you would like to try a new or extravagant dish we can teach it or prepare it for you for a small fee. We are all over the spectrum when it comes to cooking and enjoy experimenting with tough recipes from (e.g.) French, Spanish, Chinese, Mediterranean, Japanese, Indian, Mexican, and Italian cuisines.

    Examples of dishes we can teach or prepare for a fee ($5-$25) :
    Baked breads (boule, zatar bread, pita, baguette)
    Fish: pan seared fillets, lobster tail with bisque, bone/head broths and soups
    Chinese Bbq spare-ribs and red cooked meats
    Homemade Pizza (Neapolitan style, thin crust)
    Steak au Poivre
    Chinese dumplings with homemade dough
    Mediterranean: Fallafel/ shwarma with homemade pita, hummus & tzaziki
    Paella
    Oven-roasted whole chicken au jus
    Hand-pulled pasta dishes including lasagna and ravioli
    Port au Feu
    Tonkotsu Ramen with marinated egg and chashu pork (or other bone broths with hand-pulled noodles)

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Everyone helps with dishes!

    If you would like to help with the roof project, there's lots to do depending on your experience. If you have related experience or personal health insurance (or are willing to sign an injury waiver) you can help me on the roof removing old shingles and laying the new ones. Otherwise, the bulk of the labor is actually on the ground: unloading new shingles from the truck, disposing of old shingles, measuring/ cutting end pieces and metal flashing, etc.)

    Other projects:
    -General cleaning, organizing, and daily tasks.
    -Cat care: litter boxes, food and water.
    -recycling projects
    -Re-point brick chimney and sweep flue
    -Split firewood
    -Landscaping: digging, moving dirt and rocks, sweeping/raking,
    -Gardening
    -Interior and/or exterior painting
    -Refurbish old wooden garage doors
    -Weather proofing (sealing garage leaks, adding weather strips to doors)
    -Car repair (2006 Saab not running could be something easy like vacuum leak or clogged fuel injectors, 2005 Camry needs new head gasket, oil changes and tune ups).

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private room: double mattress in the upstairs loft, which is otherwise used as an office. There is no heat in this room but it will be comfortable for some even in winter with portable space heaters and blankets which we provide. Careful on the narrow stairs leading to the loft!

    Tents and van: When the private room is occupied during summer months we can also provide tents (one 6-person and one 3-person tent) for camping in the yard or on the deck and a camper van which is great for a couple.

    Transportation to and from Colorado Springs Airport or bus station upon arrival/departure.

    *️️️️️️️️️Parking on our street is heavily regulated. We can provide a parking pass for one vehicle at a time. There is free street parking a mile into town for additional vehicles. To get back, just hop on a free shuttle which will take you to a stop 300m from our door.

    We will provide healthy and delicious meals typical of our daily routine (lots of fruits and veggies, some type of grain and some protein which is usually not meat but we are not strict vegetarians yet). We can easily accommodate any dietary restrictions. We can provide transportation to the grocery store if you need sundries and extra snacks.
    For a fee you can learn to cook or try a specific dish.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    -Denver is about an hour away, Red Rocks Ampitheater is two hours away
    -Ski resorts including Breckenridge, Aspen, Vail, and many more are within a few hours.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Trailheads accessible from back-yard:
    Ring the Peak trail - 63 mi (101 km) trek around Pike's Peak
    Barr trail - 23 mi, 7,500 ft ascent (37km, 2,300 m) to the summit of Pikes Peak at an elevation of 14,115 ft (4.3km).
    Incline - World famous 2,700 step stairway gaining 2,000 ft in only one mile (45-68% grade)

    If you are planning hikes over 6 miles or camping in the wilderness, you may be on your own and we'll need some assurance you have experience hiking long distances at high elevations.

    We can lead trips over 6 miles and/or rent equipment out for a fee upon request.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Other Attractions in and around Manitou Springs:
    -Garden of the Gods
    -Dozens of short or long trails, smaller peaks, and open spaces worth visiting.
    -Cog railway which takes you to Pike's peak summit. Tickets must be reserved in advance (currently closed for construction -April, 2019).
    -If you have a reliable car and experience driving on steep grades, there is a road you can take to the summit of Pikes Peak for a toll which can be as much as $50 depending on the month.
    -art co-ops, cafes, shops, restaurants, pubs, a mountain outfitter, and an escape room within walking distance.
    -Mineral springs naturally carbonated drinking fountains dispersed throughout town, two on our road.
    -Cave of the winds
    -manitou cliff dwellings

    No smoking inside the house.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have great WiFi and an empty desk with a nice view.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 912542163351