Learn about homesteading and permaculture in beautiful Carbasse, France



Enregistré comme favori 37 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

  • Description


    Clive and Katie are renovating an old stone house in deepest Aveyron, near the beautiful Lot Valley - an old-fashioned, remote part of the south of France. Or at least, Clive is usually working on the house, while Katie is in the no-dig permaculture garden, eating luscious strawberries. There are always new and interesting projects to work on - one day Clive will even build the perfect solar dryer Katie wants for drying the strawberries, cherries, tomatoes and herbs. It's a truly beautiful sunny spot, with fantastic views, especially at sunset.

    PS this is our first time as hosts, so we're learning as we go!

    PPS Our location is shown wrongly on the map, and I don't know how to change it - we are near Espalion in Aveyron.

    Clive et Katie sont en train de rénover une vieille maison en Aveyron - un région peu fréquentée dans le sud de la France. Au moins, d'habitude, Clive travaille sur la maison, tandis que Katie est dans le potager (no-dig, permaculture), mangeant les fraises juteuses. Il y a toujours de nouveaux projets interessantes á faire - un jour, Clive va créer le séchoir solaire parfait que Katie veut pour sécher des fraises, des cerises, des tomates et des herbes. C'est vraiment un trés bel endroit , avec des vues spectaculaires, surtout au coucher du soleil.

    PS C'est notre première fois en tant qu'hôtes, donc nous apprendrons au fur et à mesure.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Visitors will learn skills and crafts including woodworking, 'homesteading' and permaculture. This is also a good opportunity to experience life in rural France - the cows wear bells here, and we're deeply involved in the local farming community. There'll be opportunities to visit neighbours, local markets and bars, and to swim in the river. We're in the Lot valley, and the nearest village (un des plus belle villages!) is very beautiful, and normally packed with pilgrims walking the Compostella trail.

    We like to speak and practice our French - Clive's French is very good, and Katie is learning quickly, and we both also speak some Spanish.

  • Aide


    We've got a few different projects on the go, so there'll be some choice as to what you get involved with, according to skills, the weather and personal preference. We'd like to finish fence works and improve the camping area for our guests, by burying services, etc. After that, there'll be scope to take on more projects - eg building steps, shelving, harvesting, helping with gites, as and when someone wants to stay longer. Eventually, we'd like to build a wood workshop - we're dreaming of a wooden cabin, with a compost loo behind.

    We're looking for a responsible person or a couple, able to work alone, with some practical skills / confidence, who enjoys physical work in a lovely (but rather isolated) outdoor environment.

    Nous avons des projets differentes en cours, et donc, il y aura un choix de quoi faire, en fonction des compétences, du temps et des preférences. Pour commencer, nous voulons améliorer le camping pour nos invitées, en enterrant les services, etc. Et puis il y a toujours plus de projets - comme construire des marches - si et quand quelqu'un veut rester plus longtemps. Finalement, nous aimerions construire un atelier de menuiserie - nous rêvons d'une cabane en bois, avec une toilette seche derriere.

    Nous cherchons une personne responable, ou un couple, capable de travailler seule, avec des compétences practicable et confiance, qui aime le travail physiquecal au dehors, dans un bel environnement (mais u peu isolé), et avec de l'énergie pour brouiller des charges de bois autour de l'endroit.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Beautiful private camp ground, with view down the valley, with a big trailer tent set up with a camp kitchen and fridge. Shared compost toilet and hot shower in the cellar nearby. There is only one bed, a narrow double, so it is only suitable for a single person, or a thin couple... Some shared meals - barbecues etc, some food provided (lots of lovely organic seasonal fruit and vegetables in the garden).

    You could also park a small camper next to the trailer tent, if that suited.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We're up a gravel track, about 5 kilometres from the nearest town, so it is a bit isolated. Visitors would be able to join us on our local activities (Katie manages a handful of local holiday houses) and trips out. But if visitors wish to explore more, they'll need their own transport . It's a lovely rural area, with lots of walks, and it's teaming with wildlife - insects, flowers, lizards - and a fox which stole Clive's boot last night! Bicycles are available to borrow.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate a van next to the tent (but we'd have to move our campervan first!) The road up is rough gravel, but my little car is OK with it.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Katie with the neighbours!
Your accomodation - campsite, with tent - not luxurious, but comfortable, private, peaceful and with a lovely view.
The house - isn't she beautiful!
Access road - a bit bumpy, but my little car does it fine.
Katie and Clive
Clive's always busy busy busy...

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 911115625469