Help required on smallholding near the Pyrenees Mountains

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 182 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.10.2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Mills and I live in the Haute Pyrenees with my beautiful son. I am looking for enthusiastic volunteers to help me maintain and develop my smallholding, so it can become as ecological and self-sufficient as possible. My ultimate goal is to set up an eco-business from home.

    I keep an array of animals that all serve a purpose and I am actively trying to produce as much organic fruit and vegetables as possible. I always have a lot of different projects that I need help with, involving anything from forestry, gardening, and animal care to building work. All this can be quite demanding, especially when you have a lively two-and-a-half year old on your hands!

    We live in a traditional rustic farmhouse just outside of a small Pyrenean village. I have over 13 acres (5.3Ha) of undulating land with beautiful views across the valley and a forest that is truly magical, especially when the wild flowers are blossoming.

    Surrounded by small farms, rural life still dominates here, along with thriving local markets.We are situated a 1.5 hour train journey south west of Toulouse: about 20 minutes drive from the foothills of the Pyrenees mountains, and the Spanish border is also only an hour away.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Aide

    Aide

    Spring is here so it’s full steam ahead with work in the veggie patch and polytunnel, clearing the forest and collecting wood, animal care, fencing, building work, and planting in the garden… There are an endless number of jobs, but there is definitely a variety!

    I have two young heavy horses that I am part way through backing (training), so if anyone is particularly interested in helping me that would be great. I also want to train them to harness, so they can pull trees from the forest, a new skill for me too!

    I am also trying to regenerate my forest, (clearing brambles and dead wood, thinning previously coppiced trees, and cutting full grown trees for fire wood) so anyone who has forestry experience would be ideal.

    Please don’t worry if you don’t have any experience or particular skills, the most important thing is a positive attitude and an openness to try things!

    Help around the house with the daily cooking and cleaning is expected so we have more time to do the fun stuff!

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have a fully furnished guest bedroom, and once the en-suite is finished, a bathroom too. I also have five bell tents that will be furnished, with use of the facilities in the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area really has a lot to offer. Aside from its beautiful landscape and mountain lakes ideal for long walks and swims, we are also an hour from the ski resorts. In the summer other mountain sports like climbing, mountain biking, and white water rafting are available and each year the Tour de France passes through the famous mountain passes (Col du Tourmalet), about an hour from here.

    I am always keen to meet new people and I hope that through opening up my home I will be able to develop my farm into a place that encourages a sharing of ideas and a love for life outdoors.

    Sharing the land are two heavy horses, Luna and Etoile. Three dogs, Mali, Baloo, and Polaire. Three cats, Morty, Max and Isis, a small flock of sheep, a number of chickens, a few ducks and two pigs.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2




N° de référence hôte : 894394363985