Wildlife, Tranquillity and a LOT of weeding/ gardening in Lower Normandy, France.

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 18 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.09.2018

Contact S'inscrire
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Philip is a semi-retired IT specialist who has worked in the legal arena including a number of years a officer with the Metropolitan Police. He had travelled widely and has worked as a SCUBA diving instructor and semi-professional photographer.

    Health problems have prevented him from keeping the place looking as good as it does in these photos, hence he is looking for some help.

    He can still wield a chainsaw and do a wide range of maintenance jobs, but not for as long or as often as he used to - its called "getting old".

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are surrounded by wildlife and birds of all kinds. Some French is spoken and we have a good social network of British ex-pats and local French residents. This an ideal opportunity to learn French or brush-up on on any exiisting skills. There are numerous beautiful and historic towns within a 45-minute radius including the incomparably beautiful Bagnoles de L'Orne which has a train connection to Paris some 3 hours east. We are situated in the National park region of Normandie-Mayenne which is centred on the Andaine forest. Less than 2 hrs drive North are the D-Day landing beaches and 1.5 hrs West is the internationally-renowned Mont St Michel.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Volunteers must love gardening and/or trees! We have almost 3.5 acres with numerous plants (and FAR too many weeds). We also have over 100 trees and a small lake (well, large pond) with three ducks. 300 years ago the property was a farm cottage / small holding and while it is perfectly habitable, there is always plenty of work to be done both inside and out, thus being practical and "handy" is a must. We are looking for general help in all areas, but mostly outside. The full range of tools is available including lawn tractor, chainsaws, heavy duty chipper/shredder, petrol brushcutters / tree pruners etc and familiarity with these would be a bonus - or at least a willingness to learn. We are fairly isolated with no TV and limited Internet (no video streaming or big downloads). If you are looking for bars you will be lucky if you get ONE on your mobile and the the nightlife consists mainly of owls and animal rustlings from the forest. We have several outbuildings all in need of TLC and hence any DIY skills would be a bonus. Couples Welcomed.

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, French

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own private room with double bed an en-suite shower / toilet. All mod cons are available, but don't expect five-star luxury - it's a 300-year old farmhouse.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    As mentioned, nightlife as such is thin on the ground. There are however bars within 20 minutes drive which have occasional (english) quiz-nights, live music etc - the expats around here are a pretty sociable bunch, but there is no local transport and Taxis are rare beasts. During the summer, there are free concerts in nearby Bagnoles de L'Orne coverings a wide variety of Arts. There is also a Casino(!) and 9-hole Golf course. Closer is Lassay-Les Chateaux with three historic castles and beautiful gardens in the town centre.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 887888585381