Renovation project and woodland in central portugal

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 13 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    06.06.2017

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I have just bought a renovation project in beautiful central portugal. We are both teachers and our children are adults now so we are looking to live a greener more simpler way of life in which we can use solar, compost toilets, reuse water and create an eco project in our recently chopped woodland . We are renovating the house and have a mini orchard of oranges satsumas and olives. We have vegetable patches and will grow organically. We want to encourage our oaks and natural flora to regrow and entice the natural portigiese woodland and wildlife to return. We are quite new when it comes to renovation and realised we have a bigger job than anticipated and would love help outdoors and indoor in exchange for a loving home , good food and lovely people and friends to share the summer with. We live in a village overlooking mountains but are in fact only 5 minutes drive from town, 30 minutes from coimbra and an hour from beach. We have a giant bread oven stone room which we need to learn how to use and we would like someone with carpentry skills if possible but certainly not necessary. We are learning portuguese but speak French to the neighbour and have a great network of ex pat english friends and some portuguese friends too! We are there from end july till end august. If we can make the home totally habitable for a winter then we can finally live our dream and move out there. Anyone who helps us achieve our dream would always be welcome to our home!

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Eco-volontariat

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are english teachers so improvement in english . Some free lessons. Opportunity to practice french Spanish and Portuguese, opportunity to be involved in a woodland eco project to benefit the environment and create a haven , use creative skills to use wood for sculpture or furniture , diy skills taught by husband, cooking skills if wanted by self, cricket practice and be part of social team if desired potlrtiguese culture

  • Aide

    Aide

    General labouring and diy, woodland management and creating nice spots for picnic, building wooden structures from recycling wood, advising on nature, advise on building and reusing materials, greener living

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English french

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Old Portuguese house and own bedroom

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Central portugal us beautiful. Rover beaches, running, cycling, nature visits, beach, Coimbra city, outdoor pools. We need to work hard in the summer as we have to return to uk after summer but we like to play and enjoy ourselves too

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 886546862234