Help with outdoor projects at our lifestyle block in the Coromandel Ranges, New Zealand



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Hello, Mandy and I (Brian) would love you to join us in Te Mata.

    We are looking for helping hands on our 30-acre lifestyle block. Our block is situated in the scenic hills of Te Mata in the Coromandel Ranges, with a great view of the ranges and ocean. We have sheep and will hopefully be getting some chickens in the near future once a chicken coop is built.

    If you love hiking, space and nature you will love it here. There are many native birds and trees we would be happy to share our knowledge of. In 2000 we built our home and know some really beautiful places to show you. Surrounding streams are great for looking for rocks and minerals (semi-precious stones), I can share my geological knowledge if you're interested. When the sea is flat I quite often head out fishing for snapper, you are more than welcome to join me when I go out.

    As well as speaking English we know a few Maori words/phrases which we are happy to pass on to anyone interested in learning a bit of the local language, culture and history. Both Mandy and I are open minded and honest. We appreciate honest communication to ensure your stay with us a pleasurable and unforgettable one.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Most of the work does not require work experience, as we are happy to teach as we go. Please note however, that most of the tasks will be done outside and will require you to be physically fit. There will also be times when we will be looking for specific skills eg. chainsaw, fencing etc

    We can teach you about sheep, native birds & plants, building, DIY projects, working machinery, weed control, Maori culture, geology and fishing.

  • Aide


    We have a continuous list of things to do depending on your interests, the weather and season.

    There are small building projects we would love help with; building a chicken coop, repainting the house and making a vegetable garden. As well as creating walking tracks through our native bush.

    Ongoing property maintenance and weed control (gorse eradication or cutting) are things we would like help with. Sometimes we use chemicals, please let us know if you have an aversion to this.

    Depending on the season there is stock work to do - lambing, shearing, drenching.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Separate from the main house we have our "workawayer room" with a double bed, private bathroom and fully self-contained kitchenette.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You are welcome to park your car/van here, if you do not have your own transport we can pick you up from Thames.
    We would like for you to work 4-5 hours a day 5 days a week. Staying with us is ideal for couples and for singles who enjoy solitude tasks. If you want to work a full day you can have the next day off for example. We usually just talk about what works for both of us and are flexible.

    Please note that we eat meat, fish and dairy. If you have dietary requirements or allergies, please add this to your message.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate up to 7m campervans beside the accommodation.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 876279664136

Feedback (5)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

German language exchange with easy going Kiwi family in New Zealand
Need help to setup a lakefront bach in Taupo, New Zealand