Help with our property and permaculture projects in a beautiful historic town in north east Victoria.

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 18 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    05.03.2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small property a 5 minute walk from Yackandandah, a beautiful historic town in north east Victoria. We live in an owner built strawbale house with composting toilets and solar photovoltaics. We are currently developing our block of land using permaculture principles and planting indigenous/natives to support our local wildlife.

    We have bikes for getting out and about and you would be welcome to participate in the many small town activities that we are engaged in. We are keen runners and bike riders, ski over winter a lot and canoe when we can. There is an active arts group, theatre, music, bike riding group. We are dedicated to making Yackandandah a renewable energy town through Totally Renewable Yackandandah (TRY) so a lot of our spare time is spent developing these ideas as well as contributing to lots of other exciting stuff. We are passionate about living simply and love sharing ideas and home cooked food.

    Nearest train stations are Wodonga or Albury, a half hour drive away, and we are happy to collect you from there at a times that suits or there is a bus.

    Would like to see a pic of you if you apply to visit.

    Access to computer and wifi.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our community is beautiful and also very dynamic, with lots of innovative stuff happening. We are involved in a wide range of projects including renewables, community gardening, community choir, landcare etc. You will get an insight to what is possible in a small town with passionate people. We love learning about other cultures and sharing ideas.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Or preference is for workers to stay around 4 days, anything further by negotiation. We would expect you to do 3-4 hours work a day (depending on complexity of task), which could include general gardening, help with veg garden, composting, weeding, tidying leaves, cleaning, assisting with building projects (many!) or helping maintain a small area of native bushland adjoining our property that we care for.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is for 1-2 in a small self contained strawbale studio that we also built. It has a composting toilet and shower and basic amenities - a small fridge, toaster, kettle and a queen size bed. Workers would be invited to eat meals with our family - two adults and an energetic and social 5 year old. We are vegetarian. And I cook. A lot. If you want to eat meat while staying with us there is a stove on the back deck and you are welcome to buy/cook your own meat!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We will make an effort to show you some of our favourite places and join us on some adventures!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 874839823235