Truly natural experience, help with painting and some gardening in Aigen-Schlägl, Austria



Enregistré comme favori 3 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    I am renovating my grandmother's cottage, located in Mühlviertel, North of Upper Austria, between the Danube and the Bohemian forest. The borders to Bavaria in Germany and South Bohemia in Czech Republic are just 10 min away.

    The house is located in a small village, Aigen-Schlägl, offering all a passionate nature lover's heart desires, such as great opportunities for swimming, biking, fishing, hiking, skiing (rather in winter..) and many more, but also cultural attractions nearby, such as the World Heritage Region Danube-Limes and the South of Bohemia in front of the doorstep.

    I would like some help with painting my house, repairing the wooden fence and preparing the garden.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be accomodated in a truly uniqe place - a 1900 garden hut, cosily furnished, with electricity and an auxiliary electric heater (just in case..).
    However, if you prefer, you can also stay in a normal appartment in the house (the renovated one, not the construction, no worries ;-).

    Mühlviertel offers a variety of wonderful places to visit - you will have hundreds of kilometers of hiking trails, leading through the Bohemian wood or to the Danube, through green valleys.

    Lipno in Czech - a big lake created by impounding the river Vltava (Moldau) - is just a 10 min drive away from the house door and offers great watersports activities.

    There are also small lakes around, plus a very cool public swimming area in the village, where you can choose between an simple swimming pool - and bathing in the river Mühl.

    There are many cultural sites to see as well, Schlägl Monastery is just a 3 min walk away, many medieval castles to explore and more.

    Krumlov is just an hour by car (actually half an hour if you manage to get the ferry boat).

    The area has been known for its linen industry formerly, and there is an interesting museum nearby.

    There are many local breweries, if you like beer.

    The "Schwarzenberg canal" which is sometimes referred to as the 8th wonder of the worl, is located in the area - an artificial system of little rivers that has been used to transport wood from Bohemia to Vienna via the Danube. It is special because the engineers managed to overcome the European watershed - meaning the water should actually flow in the other direction, to the North Sea. Along the canal, there is a wonderful cycle path over 50 km with an average slope of only 2%, so it's very convenient.

    The Danube can be reached by car in half an hour, there you can do kayaking or SUP tours.
    Some kilometers upstream, you can visit "Schlögener Schlinge" (oxbow), where the Danube makes two u-turns, which is an extraordinary natural spectacle.

    There are also the remains of a Roman castle as well as a Roman harbour to see, part of the Limes region, which is a Unesco World Heritage site.

    What is more, if there is time, I can show you around and we can do some trips, if you like.

    In general, there are good bus connections in the area. If you arrive in Linz, I will pick you up and drive you to the house.
    There is also a railway connection, but this is rather something for railway romantics, due to the long travel time.

  • Aide


    I would like some help with painting my house and do some small projects around the renovation. All repairs on the plaster of the facade have been finished, so basically I just want to color it - and there are many walls to be painted.
    I do have all materials at hand - colors, brushes, rollers etc., and also cover sheets, ladders and even a small scaffold.

    What is more, I have to renovate a wooden fence - and it's a long fence. I have to change the cross panels and fix the old wooden boards on the new panels, as the old fence is breaking down. This help does not involve many woodworking skills, it's rather simple. Removing the old wooden boards, removing nails, and the just fxing them on the new panels.

    Plus I can need a helping hand in the garden - or more precisely, a helping green thumb. I am re-planting and re-creating the whole garden, including a cottage vegetable garden, many flower beds, a trellis orchard, lawn areas and more, so there is always much to do.

    There are no fixed helping hours, you can organise this as you like. I will be there usually in the late afternoons.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant
    Hollandais: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    As my house is still under renovation, and not ready for living in it, I have prepared my grand-grandmother's garden hut as an accomodation. It's a cosy and wonderful place in the middle of the garden, offering great atmosphere and a view of the green hills.

    The hut is made of wood and has been built about 100 years ago. I have been renovating it for many weeks, including a thorough cleaning. It's dry and clean. There is now electricity of course, a bed, a table, a board, a reading chair and a working desk available. For cold days, there is an electric heater available, although I do not think it will be necessary.

    Cooking is possible too, there is a basic equipment, also glasses, plates etc., and there is an electric cooking plate, and you might want to use the charcoal grill too. I will install a little fridge too.

    As my family owns the neighbouring house (which is NOT a construction but ready), there is a private bathroom available for your own use. You will get a key and it stands at your sole disposal, there is a toilet, a sink and a shower there.

    if you prefer, in this house, there is a small appartment set up in the ground floor, which is empty. You can also choose this place to stay. However, if you look at the garden hut, I am sure you will want to stay there.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Breakfast will be served via vouchers for the local bakery, which is located 300 m up the hill. Coffee / tea are available in the hut, including a water cooker.
    For lunch, you will get vouchers too (local supermarket / shops).
    Plus you will be delivered homemade Dinner every day by myself, or we can do together, of there is time.
    I do live in Linz, where I work, this is 50km away. But I do drive to my house nearly every day, later in the afternoon.

    If you like to do trips, you can have my car for free, if you have a driving license. It's an old Renault Scenic, 2008, I bought it for the construction, it's neither beautiful nor clean, but technically it's in a fine state and you can use it for free, you only need to buy Diesel.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Basically yes, LTE internet is mostly available, and connected by WLAN, as well as a working desk. 5G only sometimes. If you are used to urban quick connections, this might be slower. If you are used to the internet in the outback, this is high-level whinging.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can park there. Electricity is available.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 872442533339