Support and companionship for young disabled man in beautiful English Lake District, near Ulverston, UK,

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 38 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.10.2021

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For late July/August '21
    We are looking for someone (M/F/other) to provide support & companionship to our disabled student son whilst he is at home.
    We (mum, dad and disabled young adult son currently a uni student but having to stay at home cos of covid) live at the south end of the English lake district in a small market town with good public transport links. We have an older son who currently lives in Leeds.
    We don't quite have views of the lakes and mountains but we don't have to drive far for great views, walks and countryside. Our house is quite spacious and we can provide a bedroom and private shower room and use of a car by arrangement. We don't smoke, have no pets and are not veggie/vegan. Dad is part time potter and mum is a keen cook/baker/breadmaker. Son spends a lot of time on computer and will be working on Uni degree (maths) online. Otherwise he is into music, films and travel (which is quite restricted due to his need for wheelchair access etc) We have a small garden and try to grow things to eat if possible! Our first language is English and mum speaks some French. Mum is Scottish, dad is half English/Polish born in the UK. We enjoy the outdoors, travel and good food.

    IMPORTANT: If you are not a UK national (or don't have residency status) and do not have a valid Frontier Worker permit, or Tier 5 visa (qualifying countries only) then I am REALLY sorry but it is unlikely that we will be able to host you. Brexit has screwed us, and you.

    Also, as you will be helping with a vulnerable adult then we may have to get a Disclosure and Barring (DBS) check done for you. This is a requirement of the statutory funding paying for our son's support.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in a beautiful part of England and although opportunities for sightseeing and socialising etc are limited at the moment it is possible to walk from our house to some great view points. It is only about 30 minutes by car to some of the highest mountains in England and so there is lots of countryside to explore. Son has an all terrain wheelchair and a wheelchair accessible car (not driven by him) and so it is possible to go on some great walks. It may also be possible for you to borrow our car, subject to insurance, licence etc. We have a lot of books covering all sorts of subjects and we have a couple of bikes (M & F) which you would be able to borrow.
    We eat round the table and talk, about lots of things! Politically well left of centre and non-religious, though this town is famous for its association with the Quaker movement and is home to Swarthmoor Hall, one of the oldest meeting houses in the country. We also have a world famous kadampa buddhist meditation temple/centre about 2 miles away. There are a number of Christian based churches in the town but as far as i know no mosque or synagogue, though there are both Muslim and small jewish communities in the area.
    We are all, in different ways, quite involved with disability issues (mainly around cerebral palsy, alternative methods of communication, and access to education) and so there is also an opportunity to learn more about disability awareness
    and disability culture/politics/provision.
    I am more than happy to teach some cooking/baking/bread-making and also knitting (very basic!)

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There is no category for "supporting/companionship for disabled person" but that is mainly what we need. Our son is 23 and has cerebral palsy, uses a wheelchair and a communication aid (cos he cannot speak). He cannot feed himself or do any personal care and so we need someone who is willing and able to help him with all this...and to basically be a friendly companion and have some fun! We do not know when he will be able to go back to his university city and so we would like someone who can commit for at least 4 weeks, possibly more. You need to have good English, spoken and written and no ongoing back problems as there is some physical moving and handling required (no lifting). You must be able to prepare and feed meals containing meat and dairy and you would be responsible for things like keeping son's room clean and changing bed linen etc (the things he physically cannot do himself) and some washing up!
    No previous or special experience necessary just the right attitude and a willingness to learn new things and meet new people. All necessary training will be provided and I have full employers liability insurance.
    Our current Workawayer, who is leaving after 6 months, had no previous experience but has fitted right in, and whilst covid has restricted a lot of activities he has still been able to get out and about with our son as well as teaching himself the guitar in his spare time!

    We have all now had 2 vaccine doses but we are still being careful with regard to Covid exposure and so you may be asked to comply with social distancing steps which are stricter than the national guidance for our area. This of course my be subject to change depending on the situation and how it progresses.

    We would ask you to take regular lateral flow testing (we can sort this for you) and/or possibly a vaccine as someone working with a clinically vulnerable person.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Large airy double bedroom on the first floor with its own adjacent shower room and w/c. There is a TV/DVD player, and wifi throughout the house. It will have some of our son's uni staff stacked in the corner but there is still plenty of space. We'll supply all bedding, towels & soap, plus the use of the vacuum, loo cleaner etc.
    You would be responsible for cleaning your own room and shower room, as well as keeping communal areas reasonably tidy. We have a dishwasher and a washing machine & tumble drier which you can use.
    You will eat with us as part of the family and all food will be provided. Meals are home cooked from scratch.
    NB unfortunately because we already have to accommodate our son's dietary requirements we will not be able to cater for gluten free/dairy free/vegan diets. There will be eggs and nuts/sesame in the house but it may be possible to keep them out of meals if necessary. Vegetarian diet may be possible, but meat and fish will be on the menu and the helper would have to be comfortable handling these and feeding them to our son.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We currently have a long term (M) workawayer who will be leaving in early June 21. It has been a great experience and has worked very well for us all and as we have had live in helpers before, as well as people coming in daily from the local area, we are used to having others in the house. While you are here you can basically treat it as home and when you are having time off you will still be welcome to eat with us, or elsewhere if you prefer.
    We may ask you to restrict use of public transport in light of covid but will try and help you get out and about to see the local area when at all possible.
    One thing, that may sound a bit odd, we would request that you don't spray/use any strongly scented aftershave/deodourant/perfume as we seem to be a rather "smell sensitive" family! The same goes for scented candles or joss sticks in your room. Thanks very much(M)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have reasonable wifi and your room has a desk and chair.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Varied throughout the day, 6 days a week. Not overnight unless by prior arrangement. Not full on 24/7!



N° de référence hôte : 841942171981