Stay on an established low impact, non-profit smallholding in West Wales, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 170 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 living and working on a smallholding in West Wales.

    Our smallholding is owned by a Permaculture trust. It is 24 acres in total, including 6 acres of wildflower meadow, permanent pasture, allotments, woods and gardens, all farmed by hand using traditional tools such as the scythe.

    We live in a wooden caravan that we built ourselves, with help from the Trust. We are off grid - electricity comes from solar panels and a self-built Hugh Piggott 3f wind turbine, water comes from a spring on the land.

    We aim at self-reliance. We grow almost all the vegetables we eat, a good proportion of the fruit, all of the meat and a proportion of the dairy products. We have a small flock of Shetland sheep for wool and meat, a micro herd of Shetland Cattle for milk and meat and about a dozen Warre beehives for honey. The majority of the produce from our livestock is for our own use.

    Our main cash income comes from scythes - running courses and selling them direct to local people and through our website. Volunteers will not be asked to carry out any tasks towards income generating parts of our lives. Some paid work in the scythe business may be available in the spring / summer. We're happy to teach volunteers to scythe if they come at a scything time of year!

    Our two children are home schooled. They really enjoy visitors and I hope you will enjoy interacting with them.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We like to share skills and hope that as well as helping us with the work that needs doing, volunteers are able to take away new skills and experiences from the time they spend with us. Both Phil and I benefited immensely from the skills we learnt whilst volunteering before settling at the Trust.

    Skills we can share include - scything, gardening, permaculture, some aspects of Biodynamic gardening, hand haymaking, animal care, low impact living, off grid electricity production, knitting, using natural dyes, sour dough bread making.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In general, all tasks are carried out using hand tools. Tasks on the farm are seasonal. In winter it is more likely to be activities such as hedge laying, clearing and small building projects. There are tasks in the vegetable garden and edible perennial plantings all year, but it is especially busy in the spring / early summer. From June until late August / September we make hay by hand.

    I have a daily routine of animal tasks and there is always the chance of an unexpected event such as a bee swarm to join in with!

    We ask volunteers to help the equivalent of 4 days out of every 7 days that you are staying, we'll make mutually agreeable arrangements with you by email before you come. If you are staying for a short time we can alter the number of days so you can get the most from your time with us.

    We try to spend time helping alongside volunteers, but volunteers also need to be happy to do tasks on their own. There may be additional volunteering and social opportunities available during your stay, eg on our monthly volunteer workdays that are open to the local community, or with other Trust members working on the land.

    We provide meals on the days that you are volunteering. We ask volunteers to self-cater the rest of the time, with their own provisions. There is a fully equipped kitchen in the Trust barn that you will have access to. This is a beautiful corner of Wales and there is plenty to explore during your free time. We can lend maps and provide information on local sites of interest.

    Phil and I tend to work all days equally, making no exceptions for weekends. Especially during the hay making season work can go on until late into the evening, but we will always try to ensure that there is adequate time to rest, explore the area etc.

    We are open to other volunteering arrangements, especially overwinter if people are looking for somewhere to stay for a bit longer. Get in touch if you would like to do something different to the above.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Welsh: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Single volunteers or couples usually stay in a small touring caravan. This has a solar electric light and a small wood burner. Please note we do not have accommodation (other then camping) for larger groups / families.

    We have space for live in vehicles if that is how you are travelling. Let us know if you are willing to camp, this might mean you can still come and stay when our usual accommodation is occupied

    All volunteers have access to the Red Barn, which has a fully equipped kitchen and a Rayburn for heating. It also has compost toilets and a solar shower.

    We have an off-grid electricity system (solar and wind). Electricity can be limited during the winter. Mobile phones etc can be charged using a usb charger. We have a phone line and can provide wifi access.

    We have a spring for water. Some water awareness is necessary year round, but especially during extended dry periods (though the spring has never run dry yet!).

    Generally, shared meals are eaten with us in our house or in the Trust's Roundhouse. We aim to eat mostly organic, locally produced, seasonal food. Most of the vegetables and fruit, all of the meat and most of the dairy we eat is home grown.

    For us, our home grown produce is an integral part of our sustainable living practice and that includes produce from our animals (for example, using animal fats for cooking means we buy in very little oil). Whilst we can cater vegetarian (or vegan), we really appreciate it when volunteers are willing to embrace more or all of our food offering. We eat less meat in the summer, therefore we are happy to cater vegetarian / vegan March - Oct if required. Please let us know if you have any special dietary requirements eg vegan, gluten free before you arrive.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are situated on the edge of a beautiful valley that was once the heart of the Welsh Woolen industry. The National Woolen Museum is located in the nearby village of Drefach Felindre.

    There is a good network of footpaths in the local area to explore and we are about 15 miles away from the stunning Cardigan Bay coast.

    There is a bus link roughly every hour from Drefach Felindre (1.5 miles from the farm) to Cardigan or Carmarthen.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a fairly decent broadband connection. Wifi is accessible from outside of our home via an extender.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 days per week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 838813689844