Arctic adventure, dog sledding, snowmobiles and huskies near Kiruna, Sweden

Country

Suède

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 263 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    74.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, My name is Craig and I am Scottish, living in Swedish Lapland for nearly eight years. I came here from Scotland with my sleddog racing team of seven Huskies. Things have changed somewhat, and now I have almost 60 huskies. We have bred some world-class bloodlines to create many excellent dogs, and also, we have rescued around 20 dogs, many of whom we have found good forever homes. The dogs are my life.

    I live in a cabin in the dog kennel in a beautiful boreal forest. We have internet, electricity, toilet & showers and are only 15mins from the nearest town. The area is idyllic for walking & camping in which we share with Brown Bears, Moose, Reindeer, Wolverines, Foxes, Rabbits and much more wildlife. In the summer, we have nearly 100 days of daylight and the awesome Midnight Sun. The winter brings the enigmatic Northern Lights and transforms the landscape into an icy snowscape of freezing rivers and lakes so we can cross them on dogsled & snowmobiles. Lapland truly is a land of extremes, Beautiful & Bright but sometimes Dark & Delightful. If you are looking for adventure, you came to the right place! You will not be asked to help with core

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have an unlimited amount of cool things to see and do here. You will learn how to train, control and drive a big team of Huskies. I will teach you how to look after a large pack of nearly 60 Alaskan Huskies. You will learn how to drive a 4WD ATV in off-road conditions, in all weather through beautiful forests.

    If you would like to go camping, I have everything you need to have an enjoyable experience. I can happily take you to some lovely secret local spots with no people, just beautiful rivers, wildlife and landscapes. Oh, and you can take a dog with you for the company should you wish.

    You will learn in the summer which berries to pick and eat. Living in the forest has many benefits.

    I will introduce you to the indigenous Sami people and their culture. Then, you will meet Sami friends of mine and perhaps help feed their Reindeer. If you are lucky, you might also be invited to some local home-cooked Sami cuisine.

  • Aide

    Aide

    It's not so important that you can do the following because I can teach you most of it. However, where you can excel is always a bonus. What we do here is unique and bespoke, and there is always something new and exciting to do and learn. Ideally, I would want anybody interested in coming to be here a minimum of 2-3 months as it takes time to learn what needs to be done as well as meeting, understanding and helping with the dogs in a good way.

    Most of the time, you will be helping with the Huskies, training the young dogs' basic skills, looking after the puppies, feeding and cleaning the dog runs. In addition, you will learn how to drive a dogsled & a snowmobile if you are here in the winter and an all-terrain 4WD vehicle in the summer.

    If you have any photographic or video/ social media skills that could be useful as we have professional DSLR cameras, drones and stabilisers that you could utilise. The landscape is very photogenic in Lapland, with the Midnight Sun in the summer and the enigmatic Northern Lights in the winter. A driving license is also advantageous here as we are situated 150km north of the Arctic Circle. That said, it is not as remote as it sounds, but it can be should you want to escape all humanity for a day or two.

    I am looking for the right people immediately to come and help with the summer chores & maybe winter also. You will be provided with accommodation and good food. You will not be asked to help with core business-related activities.

    Let me know, if you have skills in this areas: yoga/meditation, crypto currency, digital art, programming, vet skills, building skills, mechanical skills.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Catalan: Débutant
    Swedish: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am interested in improving my Swedish & Spanish but also other Languages.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is a simple cabin. It is clean, has everything you need to cook, and the bed is comfortable. The restroom and shower are in another building nearby. You also live in the dog kennel with the Huskies, which is exceptionally special.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off, you will have the opportunity to go wild camping, trekking through the forest or even part of the famous Swedish Kungsleden. I will take you to see some incredible places and do some cool things like Archery, Fishing and berry picking. We will walk through gorges and secret waterfalls and visit the clearest lake in the Swedish mountains. We may also take a trip to Norway and Finland when the borders eventually open. As I said previously, there is an unlimited amount of cool things to do here in the Arctic. Suppose you do come in the summer and stay for the winter. In that case, I will help you in attaining your professional Snowmobile license, which is valuable and essential in other Northern territories. Or, of course, you can go walking through the forest with the Huskies. Whatever you wish.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have a decent internet connection and any help with our online projects such as NFT's for the Huskies would be nice.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate pretty much any size of vehicle.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 835976115397