Discover the diverse cultures of the Nova Scotia area helping with everyday jobs around our property near Digby, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 102 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    My name is Joanne and I am the manager of a 14 unit motel in Smith's Cove, Nova Scotia, Canada. The property is on a sandy beach just across the harbour from the town of Digby , which is world famous for our seafood, especially our scallops. The across Canada trail is just up the road from our Motel, and you can view the highest tides in the world from our property. There are many gardens, flowers , and shrubs and it is a beautiful and serene place to visit or live. There is a community bus which passes right in front of our property so that someone without transportation could travel around to different locations on their time off. We have wi-fi available on the property and cable for down times. My husband and I are both singer songwriters, and musicians and we often play live music on the property.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My husband is a French Acadien, and speaks there ancient language, as well as Parisian French, and English. This area has a diversity of cultures from Micmac to the first settlers in this area in Annapolis Royal which is only 20 minutes from us and is an historic village which changed hands between the British and French many times. This area is one of the best locations in the world to go whale watching , and the scenery is some of the best in the world. The French Acadien villages are also only 20 minutes from where we live. Our National park is only an hour away , where there are interpretive talks as well as hikes to see Micmac hieroglyphics , there is deep sea fishing, farm markets where artisans sell there wears. My husband and I are both singer songwriters in the French Acadian and English language, and weplay several different instruments. There is The Habitation , only 30 minutes away where people are dressed in period clothes and doing jobs that were done in that period in history such as weaving, black smith's, bakers, etc. There are many museums in the area as well. Talking with the Tourists who come from all over the world will also be a learning experience for them as they will need to have knowledge of the area to be a help to those who ask questions.

  • Aide


    I would need help with the things that I have to do every day that staff do not have time to do , such as watering the flowers, mowing the lawns, painting, weeding and planting the flowers, pruning the shrubs, whipper snipping, talking with the tourists, general maintenance, starting campfires, bringing wood to the campfires, cleaning the beach, cleaning the yard, sorting the recyclables, cleaning the barbecues, picking up debris left behind by some of the guests.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have motel rooms with hard wood floors, ensuite bathrooms with showers, flat screen T.V.'s , and private decks, wifi as well. During the part of the season in late July, August and the first two weeks in September when we often are full house we have an apartment in the basement of the big house where we live which is separate from the motel and has an ensuite bathroom and shower as well.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    On their time off there is site seeing, swimming, biking, walking, hanging out on the beach, travelling around on our bus line which is only three dollars to go two hours in any direction, whale watching, fishing, shopping, there are also shuttles. We are musicians so on our time off we play music, and garden which is another of my passions.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 835695633935