Help in our garden and general maintenance in rural Co. Down, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 149 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are retired farmers in our mid 70’s living in rural Co. Down with our daughter. The other member of our family is Buff, our 12 year old cocker spaniel, who loves meeting people.
    Co. Down is an area of drumlins (small hills), narrow roads and hedges making it both interesting and beautiful. Our farm has views of the Mourne Mountains, The Sperrins and Belfast. We have many local National Trust properties, including those used to film The Game of Thrones, nearby. Our nearest seaside resort is 40 minutes drive; it is beside a long stretch of beach where you can usually see grey seals, as well as sand dunes with flora and fauna. Because of our drumlins we have spectacular views in al directions.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Tenir compagnie à une personne âgée
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Ireland has many cultural sites, some of them dating thousands of years. We have a few archeological sites quite near us, but the Giants Causeway on the North Coast is too far for a day trip - some volunteers go for a weekend. Depending on the time of year there may be festivals, otherwise we can direct volunteers to cultural events and entertainments.
    Belfast is now a vibrant city and is approx. 50 minutes by bus. The bus to Dublin takes two hours and it calls at Dublin airport.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have two recently planted woodlands and need help to establish them by pruning in the winter during the dormant season, tidying, providing for wildlife, etc. They are great places to practice meditation, yoga or tai chi.

    Our garden always needs attention, especially our organic vegetable garden where we try to grow as much of our own food as possible.

    As well we need help to tidy, paint and repair our farmyards.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in a small bungalow, so the accommodation would be in a caravan beside us. This has mains electricity and running water, toilet and shower though we would expect volunteers to share most of our main meals. We eat organically if possible and often make our own bread. As I enjoy cooking, I would be interested in exploring different foods, while providing volunteers with traditional Irish dishes. If COVID-19 returns, It would be extremely difficult to keep you with us as there are no longer cooking facilities in the Caravan and we do not have spare rooms.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our small local town (approx. 10 mins. drive) has coffee shops, cinema etc. and we are willing to take volunteers there and will collect them up to 10pm. The narrow roads are unlit and do not have footpaths so are unsuitable for walking.

    Our farm is a good place to “chill out”. But if you are interested in lively nightlife, we are not for you. Banbridge has little hotel accommodation, so bars only have music at weekends and currently that would be modern or country, but not traditional.

    Two people are ideal. If you have a clean driving licence and are comfortable driving on the left side of the road, we may loan you our second car (subject to insurance requirements). We will try to take volunteers on outings, especially at weekends, but we do not have as much energy as previously

    Two hours in a car takes you most places in Northern Ireland and many are areas of outstanding natural beauty. For anyone wanting to learn our history we have excellent cultural sites and many museums, places of interest, etc.

    You would be living in a caring environment where we focus on others qualities and we aim to show love and respect to everyone.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kettle, toaster, TV
Planting up the polytunnel.
Our home
Banbridge

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















N° de référence hôte : 835512413446