Join us and get involved in our busy family life in Sheffield a vibrant city in Northern England, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

Enregistré comme favori 159 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.06.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and help our family thrive!
    My children and i live in lovely Sheffield, England. We are right next to the peak district which has excellent hiking , climbing, caving and other outdoor activities, and is easily accessible by foot or public transport. Sheffield is a vibrant, multicultural and green city full of creative, outdoorsy types and is a great place to live.
    We have a lot going on at our home and are a busy family. We love having people around, especially those with a curiosity about the world. My kids 8 and 10, and my oldest has a disability (downs syndrome) so i need help with a whole variety of stuff. while there will be some ongoing tasks, you probably won't get bored. And if you do, i will find you something else to do!!
    We would prefer someone who can do at least a month so you can really become part of the family, but we are also pretty flexible if someone has skills we desperately need like building, plumbing and general diy for the 3 projects i have running at the moment. couples and families very welcome - the children love having other kids around!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    you will learn so much from my kids. especially my oldest due to his disability -he has a different outlook on life. It would be great for someone looking to work with children, health care professionals, or anyone going into any kind of caring profession. this placement would be great for anyone who wants to work with kids really!
    i am really flexible and if you wanted to work more some days in order to have more free days, provided it worked for us too, i have no problem with that.
    i can help with your english language skills if you need, and i am good at what i call 'life shit' if that's of any use!
    the tasks i need help with are so varied its really hard to quantify what exactly you would get, but i see this as an exchange not just of time, but of ideas and personalities. you get to help shape small people and big ones, too! what isn't there to learn? i just really love having different people around, it's exciting and fun for everyone.
    also - for the building and conversion projects, we will be learning together.

  • Au pair

    Hôte « au pair »

    This host is looking for an au pair in the UK

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The bulk of the help i need is cooking and keeping the house in order, and childcare during the holidays. it's essential that you enjoy spending time with children and are empathic to their needs! Also, you have to have a lot of energy and be willing to get up early some days during the holidays, and 2 out of 7 during term time.
    Also, Childcare doesn't mean shoving the kids in front of your phone and letting them watch YouTube. I am perfectly capable of doing that myself, and don't need a workawyer to do it for me.

    So, the work would involve spending time playing with the kids so I get a rest in the mornings, playing with 1 child while i have quality time with the other, helping my oldest child with targeted speech and language work (support/training will be given), accompanying us on daytrips when i feel i need an extra pair of hands, occasional school runs depending on my working hours, at least 1 night of babysitting a week so that i can have some kind of social life, and taking the boys to the park depending on how long you stay, if you feel confident to do so, etc.
    housework would involve keeping the house clean and tidy, laundry, and if your skills are better than mine (not hard) cooking for the family.
    other tasks would include gardening and helping create raised beds for growing veg (this is a small project, we only have a small space) , language exchange and creative skills exchange.
    i would love to find someone with the necessary skills to create murals in my boys bedrooms.
    I am also looking for people who have building /plumbing/ eco project/ diy skills who can help convert 3 seperate spaces. one is a cellar into a music room, however the final is a brick outhouse that i would love to turn into a therapy space in as eco friendly a manner as possible. special consideration given if you have these skills.
    extra special consideration given to speech and language therapists or occupational therapists!

    It would be helpful if any potential workawayers are independent as my work is variable and i am quite busy so can't always guarantee being around a lot. You have to be OK with cooking for yourself.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Welsh: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    you will have your own large room in the attic, and a bathroom which will be mostly yours.
    if i have other guests, or other workawayers, you will be in our comfortable living room on a blow up mattress, but i wouldn't put anyone up in here for longer than a week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is loads to do in sheffield and the surrounding area - the peak district. public transport is easily accessible from the house and everything useful is within walking distance! you can do whatever you want with your time off, i am also happy to spend time together when its' possible and show you around. we are really flexible and easy going and would like workawayers who are similar!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have a good internet connection, and you will have plenty of space in the attic to work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    you can park it on the street, but it won't necessarily be outside my house.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    This really depends on the type of pet and duration of your stay!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week or the equivalent. i would expect you to work at least one weekend day.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











N° de référence hôte : 152642654385