Learn about and help us gain greater self-sufficiency on your family farm in Mendooran, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 21 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our three generation family run a 5500 acre merino wool farm, with sheep, cattle, dogs, bees and chooks. We are in the establishment phase of our permaculture garden and food forest but are aiming to produce most of our own food in the future. use holistic management and free choice lick with livestock.I have a great interest in regenerative farming practices, including, cover crops, green manure, zero till farming, erosion control using filter dams and zuni bowls, silvopasture, agroforestry, building farm diversity.


    We are always learning more and hope to find a person who wants to grow with us for a while! Our goal is greater self-sufficiency with less work and more fun.


    We eat meat but do cater for vegetarians. Accommodation either in main house or the separate shack. We have a well-stocked library, nearby national parks to explore (the beautiful Warrumbungle Mountains) and thousands of acres to roam and explore as you like.We hope to hear from you soon!

    Current projects on farm are renewing fences, renovating 105 year old weatherboard house(including Restumping and reroofing), building filter dams in gullies. If we find time we have numerous other building projects to attack, including milling timber, walipini(pit greenhouse), shack extension, building trellis on house, woolshed extension, etc.

    Possible daily tasks you may help with are, feeding livestock, working on vege garden, planting fruit trees, compost making, cooking, shifting livestock, general farm maintenance etc.

    Also to add to farm work I have two daughters Rosie 3 and Bonnie 5 Years. So if you are more interested in au pair/ nanny work, I would appreciate the help. Possible tasks would be pick up and drop off to preschool bus, getting ready for preschool, helping supervise girls whilst doing work on farm, supervising them around house whist we are not around.

    We hope to hear from you soon.
    Cheers Will

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can share our knowledge of what we have learnt in the hope that use may use it or share with someone who may use it and hope to learn new things from you

  • Aide

    Aide

    We can cater for a large range of skills and learning experiences.
    some skills/education that we can provide for are
    large scale farming experience(working towards organics)
    building construction/renovations
    welding/mechanicing
    permaculture skills both large and small scale
    machinery operation
    sawmill operations
    timber cutting
    cooking
    help with my daughters

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation can be in the main house or seperate helpers quarters.
    helpers quarters has its own kitchen, but we prefer to have communal meals most of the time

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    40km from Warrumbungle National park.
    20km from local village (Tooraweenah)
    150km from Mudgee wine region

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have mobile internet service. It is not the best, but enough for most of our needs. We have an office with computer and also if you have your own and want your own space, the workers quarters has enough space to do so

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Have plenty of space. Can park anywhere on property if wanted. We have an outside shower and toilet near the house, self contained shower and toilet near workshop, access to bore water on most of property if wanting to camp away from buildings.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes, we have several dogs. ours are mostly social with other dogs. Our dogs are mainly work dogs and stay outside, but if your dog is house trained we are happy to have them inside Our dogs do chase cats, so would be alright as long as cats stay inside.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 823589628356