Striving for self-sufficiency in the hills of North East Victoria, Australia

Country

Australie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 99 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Inscrivez-vous pour contacter cet hôte
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family of 4: Jake and Aleth, Remi (5) and Lucy (2), and have recently purchased a small property. Our main objective is to turn our 8 acres into a productive space based on permaculture principles to try and achieve a certain level of self sufficiency. We have 1 little dog, 20 sheep, meat chickens (seasonal only), laying chickens, 2 pigs (seasonal only), a hive of bees and fish in the dams. Jake also has a woodworking business (tree milling / furniture making).

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux
    Aide avec les langues

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jake knows lots about wood and could teach you to recognise different trees and their characteristics/qualities, as well as uses for building/furniture making. Also a keen hunter, he can take you for walks to try and spot some wildlife. Aleth is French and speaks French to the kids, and also plays the violin. We have both travelled in the past and have been well looked after by people on the way, so we are happy to return the favour!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We currently have lots of projects going on such as fencing the veggie garden and orchard (wooden fence), landscaping (big retaining wall), preparing for a verandah extension. Of course this will all be made out of wood so first we’ll need to source and mill the timber!
    The veggie garden also needs preparing for spring planting, and there’s always making the daily bread in our wood stove and cooking dinner with home grown meat and veggies! Kids also provide round the clock entertainment!

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, french

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Double bed in cosy renovated garage (separate building from the house).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Can pick up from Albury train station.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our family on new creek bridge
Our backyard!
Helper accommodation
Eating peas straight off the bush
Autumn leaf
Typical summer harvest
Free range chicken
Shiitakee mushrooms ready to harvest
Canoe on the dam
First catch from our dam
Rory, helping us out with the lambs
Marina, helping out with fencing




N° de référence hôte : 552172945746