Help with some digital projects and landscape projects on our sustainable farm in Turrialba, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Enregistré comme favori 190 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.11.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    My name is Maria, I’m a sustainability passionate. In our farm, we do organic horticulture, artisanal bread and other natural products with added value. Also, we lead a small community of local farmers, makers and bakers and have developed a system to offer our town a simple way to buy local, sustainable and gourmet food.

    Here, I live with my sister Laura and my 4 year old son Elias, who is basically homeschooled (for now).

    Throughout our personal international experiences, we know for a fact that traveling is magical because of the people you meet and the experiences you exchange with different cultures. We want Elias to enjoy this feeling since a young age.

    Traveling and hosting international travelers is how we have made some our best friends until now. Our farm carries a little bit of everyone we have ever received as a volunteer, tourist or friend.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    By working with us you get the chance to spend some time of your life with a young and modern tico family, yet simple and authentic. You can enjoy waking up in the mornings with the most stunning sunrise, learn about our values, our language, our food.. you can learn about growing food, about simplicity. We can help you with your Spanish and we can also give you the best advices and recommendations for you to get to know Costa Rica the best way you can.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are a farm led by my sister. Due to accommodation available we can only accommodate females or mother and child volunteers with experience in:

    - Photography/Video/Film making
    - Project writing
    - Digital Marketing
    - Garden - Landscape Design
    - Agricultural background
    - Sustainable tourism

    Our project is facing inmediate needs to grow, which is is why we are looking for someone with specific experience.

    We'd like to host volunteers looking to spend at least 1 month or more in our farm in Costa Rica, while helping us in different tasks, some of them might include (according to what you have to offer), taking proffesional photos and videos of our project for social media/website purposes, helping us translate, create presentations and writing the documents of our initiative in English, participating in our farm labours, collaborating with the house general order and cleaning, designing gardens and future tourism projects.

    Besides our horticultural gardens, we have dogs, sheep and cats.

    The candidates MUST BE:

    1. An animal person person. We have 5 dogs, 3 cats and 4 sheep in our farm and we wouldn't want to be in a position of saying "Sorry, we told you so".

    3. People who GENUINELY enjoy nature (waking up early, playing outside, working in the garden...). We understand costarrican weather is hard sometimes (rain, humidity, heat), we will not be unreasonable about this, we would just like to have someone who wakes up in the morning with a good attitude without having us knocking on your door because you like sleeping late. It's just the natural rhythm of the farm, "go with the flow, go with the weather..."

    3. People with good personal higiene (deodorant, teeth, hair). Costa Rica is a country where in general terms we appreciate someone who is clean, and unfortunately we have had not so good experiences in the past. We do not mean to be invasive, but please understand, farm work is already hard enough, we wouldn't want someone talking and playing with our kid without washing their hands or with a terrible breath.

    4. People who are organized with their stuff, no mess (in or outside their room).

    4. Respectful, mature and responsible. We know that volunteering is the best way to travel, however, it takes a lot of work and effort for a family to open the doors of our dynamic and explain everything to someone new, you would like to make sure it is worth it. If what you are looking for is only free accommodation and food during your trip, I recommend to look for another kind of place (maybe a restaurant or a hostel, somewhere where you could just work the hours you committed and then log off work and enjoy your personal time). Your work schedule in the farm will be respected, but at the same time you must understand that staying with a family means more socializing in personal terms and being part of the family dynamic, even when you are off the clock (this means helping with the cooking, or dishes, or spending a little time playing with our son, or getting to know us better and chatting)

    On the other side, if you come to our place and honestly agree to these terms, Im sure the experience will be successful and our farm is a place were you will always be safe, you will have a home in Costa Rica.

    We really like the idea of having more kids around the house and we prefer having volunteers for long terms (more than one month) to be able to pass through the learning stage of the first few weeks and create a real connection that both benefits us and you (Sometimes you host volunteers and spend a lot of time and energy explaining how everything works and as soon as they are starting to flow with the rhythm of the farm, they're time is over. We'd like to make sure that if we spend this time and energy, the plans of the volunteer are staying for a while and actually contribute to our place).

    Weekends are generally off.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private Room
    Private bathroom
    Laundry
    Wifi
    Hot water
    Private kitchen-aid
    Basic food offered ( You can feel free to share with us our meals, eat of whatever we have prepared on the day and all the fresh produce that you'd like, but you must be aware that if you have special needs, requirements or preferences regarding food, you must resolve this issue by yourselves). *Ex, snacks for your kid, non dairy milk, wine or beers, a special fruit that you like, etc. Also, we have a little store of local products that you can buy anytime.

    Your room will be a small loft-like room with a double and a single bed, private bathroom with hot water, couch, desk and small kitchen aid with the basics for you to have a little privacy. This room is in our house, so even if you are inside, you can hear a little bit of what's going on around the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Close to Turrialba Volcano, Irazu Volcano, Pacuare River Rafting, Guayabo Archeological Park, 1hr away from San José. 2-3 hrs away of both Pacific and Caribbean.

    Trails within the farm.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our internet is stable, but not high speed. Please take this in consideration.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 822989734546