Help us with some renovation projects and growing our own food in the beautiful Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 19 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.03.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 3 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the beautiful sunshine coast of B.C. where we run our family farm in the forest and an oyster farm on the beach. We love traveling too, so we know how valuable it is to be in a new place with locals. Our home is at the end of highway 101, it is somehow remote, so we share our land with a wide variety of wildlife like bears, cougars, deers, etc.

    We live with the rhythm of the tides and weather, as the oysters we farm for making a living. Our life is mostly outside, under the moon, the sun or the rain. We grow most of the veggies and fruit that we eat during the year. We also love gathering seasonally for berries, mushrooms or sea creatures. Our oyster operation is mainly on the beach, and our schedule depends on the tides. Some of our activities are long term cycles, like growing the baby oysters; some of them medium term cycles, like maintenance of equipment; and some of them are short term cycles, like harvesting, which we do every week.

    Our dirt farm has a big field and different buildings, and usually we have several projects going on; clean up, pruning, fencing, planting trees, maintenance of buildings, roads and trails, canning food, brewing some goodies, etc. In the dirt farm we have a small cabin for hosting workawayers/wwoofers/friends/family. It’s rustic but cozy. If this cabin is busy, we host our guests in the camper van, small but cozy as well, with power, propane stove and dining table; washroom and laundry from the main house.

    Our diet is omnivore. We eat mostly organic food. Cheese, pasta, flour, and grains are the only things we don't get organic.

    We expect our guests to help us around 5hrs per day, 5 days a week, in an irregular schedule. Our days off depend mostly of the weather and oysters deliveries, so weekends don't rule our calendars.

    During the spring/summer time we work during the day. Be aware that in winter/late-fall time, we work at night. We have all the equipment necessary for making it possible.

    The best is bringing your own comfy gumboots, but if you don’t have them, we have a good selection of sizes. We provide globes, rain-gear and headlamps. We don’t smoke, so smoking inside the buildings is not allowed.

    We would appreciate if you avoid using incense, perfumes, and anything that has a strong fragrance.

    The best qualities for our job is flexibility. We are not routine people, we live day by day. If you add the weather and the tides you get a very irregular schedule (:P).

    Our area is reach in places to explore (check out the Sunshine Coast Trail). We recommend you to stay at least 3 weeks so we get to establish a rhythm of work and a relationship, plus you get to wander around the beautiful place we live in.
    Best activities here are: hiking, swimming, fishing, kayaking, having a beer with your hosts, etc. If you have a car there is more chances to get to see cool places like lakes, rivers, beaches, etc. If we have the chance, we will take you to some of these. In town there is concerts or parties where you will get the flavour of the lovely community that we live in.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We know how significant is when you get to share and learn from locals when traveling, we think that's the priceless and best part of going out of home. We would like to offer that experience to others, while we get some help for getting some things done.

    I'm from Colombia, and my partner and daughter are Canadians. We speak Spanish and English, and we love eating organic and balanced meals. Most of our diet is locally grown, by ourselves or by our neighbours; or wild harvested like mushrooms, berries, fish, etc. We will share with you our eclectic way of life, our love for latin contemporary music and canadian country, our passion for the ocean, boating, picnicking, and so on. I'm also a stone carver, mostly marble, and I would love to trade with you sculpting skills, specially if you know carpentry.

  • Aide

    Aide

    There are several ways you could help us:
    Depending of the season we do seeding, planting, weeding, harvesting, cover crops, fencing, winter garden, etc. For tilling the soil we use tractor, for all the other activities we use hand tools.

    There is different buildings in the property that need different levels of renovation.
    Currently we want to adapt a small cabin for hosting people in the summer and lift up the roof of an old shop that needs serious help.

    Our daughter is one y/o, if you like kids, you might love to take care of her while we do the work.

    We share cooking and cleaning up the kitchen for every meal.

    We expect from workawayers being openminded, kind and physically active.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    *June 2020 update: the guests' cabin is not avalible now. We are hosting wa ers in our campervan.
    *Related to COVID: If you are requesting stay please let us know a bit about your activities in the past 2 weeks.
    *Our farm is a Fragrance Free environment.

    We have a cozy little cabin. It has its own kitchen, shower, laundry room, and an outhouse. You will have complete privacy. The plan is having the 3 meals together, we cook and clean together too.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Around our place, are several trails to explore the area, like the Sunshine Coast Trail, which is a great attraction for outdoors lovers. We spend good part of our work time in boats, so we get to explore the shore around Desolation Sound quite often.
    Public transportation is not easy, best way to get here from Vancouver or from Vancouver Island is hitchhiking or driving. We can arrange pickup in Powell River or Lund.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 6 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 794258963141