Help us save our cottage in Stojčín, Czech Republic



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are a family of five. We live in Highlands´ village Stojčín, close to Žirovnice and Počátky in the border with South Bohemia. There are many nice places around, although the village itself is not so much interesting, no shop. We have train stop directly in the village, so you can easily get around.

    We used to live in a wooden caravan of 12 sq. m., a simple life. Partly because we liked it, partly because we did not have any other home. Now we live in an old house, Petr's workshop, which we are slowly rebuilding for living, mostly by Petr's strong hands... Although it is far from finished, we have hot water running from the tub, yehaa, and the most important - a one hundred years old sofa.
    The place, where we live, was originally built to be a baking factory. But before it started to produce biscuits, the communist regime came and took it from its owners. Then it became a summer camp for children. There was kitchen and dinning room in the house we live.
    And in the cottage, which is in the garden, was a medical room for ill children.

    For the two years we are living here now, we are trying to reconstruct the old house while living in it with three children. So, it is very slow reconstruction. We never finish anything properly, and are happy, that we have roof and water...
    We try to do some vegetable beds, grow some bushes. The place itself is something between forest and garden... However, unfortunately, the forest, which was all around us was taken down due to the bark beetle.

    Our children are 10, 5, 3. Usually fighting or playing loudly. Each of them is different. You will see.

    Petr (50) is a fighter pilot of a First world war replica and a real handyman. He can do anything from building a house, constructing an airplane to cooking a delicious dinner. He is an electrician, car mechanic, welder, carpenter, everything. But most of all a great man and father. And the best pilot of the 1st World War replicas.
    He loves not just the old planes, but everything old and beautifull. He is very charismatic person, people love to be in his company, talk to him. He knows a lot not just about the engines or planes, but he likes history, music ...

    Marketa (42) loves trees and gardening in permaculture way, doing little home art projects such as tile mosaic, macrame lamp shades or clay creatings. She used to cut funny videos and write articles, but with three children there is no time to spent in front of computer. She has a passion to invert trash into treasure. Her favourite place, beside the forest, is a scrapyard. To be truly happy she needs lot of nature and silence everyday. She learned how to do kraniosacral therapy.

    More pictures and info on our workawayers´ profile:

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    With Petr you can learn a lot. He knows how to build a plane and everything... Sometimes he is in a mood for long deep conversations about where the world is going...

    Marketa can speak Russian, so you can practice. She does cranio sacral massage to family. So you might ask for one too.

    We can teach you to cook some Czech food, if you like.

    Sometimes you can go with us to our second home - airport Jihlava. Petr has his planes there. There is sauna. Our wooden caravan is there. We even might let you stay in it...

    We like music and want to learn to play some instruments. Petr piano. Marketa violin. Children everything:-)

  • Aide


    We need strong handy man. Or woman. Or both. Or family... To help us reconstruct the wooden cottage, where you can meanwhile live. It needs some basic fixing, that it will not fall appart, new coat, new water pipes...

    What are the approximate steps:

    First - fix together the base of the cottage, which started to go appart due to one very snowy winter - too much presure on the roof. Replace the rotten parts. This you will do with my partner or under his supervision. He knows what to do and how....

    Second - dig the long ditch for the new water pipes from the house to the cottage. Set up the pipes and water system.

    Third - make the shower inside, the cottage.

    Fourth - renovate the cottage from the inside - make it beautifull and functional - put stove, make kitchen... so it can serve for workawayers or other guests.

    Fith - make terrace for the cottage with outside fireplace

    Not necessarilly in this order.-)

    B: (Our priority for August, September 2022) We need strong help around the house: to sort out, clean and put under shelter old beams. Together with Petr. It is heavy duty to carry the beams. Needs strong man, or two.

    C: We have children... If it suits you and them, you could do some babysitting or homeschooling.

    You can plan your working hours as you wish. Work more hours one day, have free the rest of the week.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Czech: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Russe: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Petr wants to learn french. Marketa spanish. Children love any language.

  • Hébergement


    Wooden cottage with three rooms and toilet. No proper kitchen, no running water yet. Needs some reconstruction. But it is in quite a good state to have a nice accommodation immediatelly. It is in a big wild garden forest, with trees and little meadow. It has beautiful evening sun.

    It is twenty meters from our house, with entrance to the opposite side. So you have your privacy. But you can come to take a shower. Our children have playground close to the cottage, but we can arrange it differently, if you need and will stay longterm.

    We as well need our privacy because of three children, we are happy to be at least couple minutes a day alone and not to talk at all. So, if you are looking for someone to share a lot of company with, we are not the case (But the children are! Specially Jaroslav (4)) It does not mean, we do not like company and cultural exchange. We really like nice people and spent time with you. But we do not need it all day long...

    Short term stays: we will provide all meals for intensive help

    Long term stays: in long term we are not able to cook for you reguralry, or share with you all meal time. Accordingly we will not ask for so much helping hours and preferably set the hours so, that your food will be on your costs. approximately 3 hours per day...

    We can borrow you bike, boat, maybe even car, for some short time, when we do not need it...

    We have little kitten. Plan to have chickens soon.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our village is called Stojčín. The train stop name is Počátky - Žirovnice and is just three minutes from us. Train goes to many nice towns - Jindřichův Hradec, Telč... You can easily get from here to Prague or Brno too.

    The nature around is so beautiful. We can give you tips. You can explore the Highlands or South Bohemia with its ponds, which is also close.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have very fast connection here.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Big campervan is ok.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Petr is not a big fan of dogs. So, your dog needs to be well behaved, not to run around and eat everything...

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, we are flexible in timetable

N° de référence hôte : 792413488331

Feedback (1)



Help with various art projects, skills and languages in North Bohemia, Czech Republic
Venez découvrir d'incroyables paysages et donnez-moi un coup de main pour mon projet à Hrubá Skála en Rép. Tchèque