Visit our urban homestead in Victoria Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 336 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    81.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! Meet our busy and loving little family of four. Bijan is a fun loving father and an open minded college Economics instructor who loves tech, a good discussion and is always happy to practice his Spanish and French. Renée is an energetic extroverted birth doula, accessibility researcher and yoga instructor. We both love to cook and share house hold responsibility. Renée has a unpredictable birth work schedule and also works several evenings a week teaching. Our children are Ezra and Arya, 9 and 8 and we a have a shy cat Kali, and our joyful dog Toto. The kids are very active and love arts and crafts, playing and cracking jokes. We are very open to new people and have very big personalities. If you are flexible, open-minded and enjoy family life and good food please check us out and send us a message. Our home is cozy and we have a lot of projects and need help with seasonal chores as well as day to day tasks like the dishes. We invite those who are open to becoming a part of the family for the duration of their stay.

    *For summer/fall we are looking for people who like children, pets, enjoy yard work, cleaning, organizing and can happily work outside with the cold and wet weather. We request that you come prepared to work, with rain gear, proper foot wear etc, of course we have a couple of extra work shoes and gloves but consider the jobs you may be doing. Due to Renée's unpredictable schedule the hours expected may need to be different day to day but this rarely happens. We respect your free time and will only ask this if we need to, and will always make it work.

    You are our ideal candidate if you are a couple or two friends who work well together and have some life experience, you are organized, independent and self directed. For the Feb/March time we will need some help with larger jobs and some of this work is better for two people, such as moving compost, digging out berry bushes, planting and transplanting as well as some deep spring cleaning. For much of this work you can organize your day according to your own preference but we do prioritize dinner with our family and appreciate having guests joining us for this meal when possible. We also appreciate having some time as a family so we do not expect to spend all of our free time together!

    We have a small 10/10 cabin in the back of the yard that is private and ideal for two people who like their own space. The bed is a bunk bed and has a double bed on the bottom and a single on the top. It is cozy and quiet. The bathroom and other facilities are in the main house but there is wifi. You are welcome to pee in the trees..it's that private.

    We are very particular about who comes to join our family and really appreciate knowing a bit about you. If you choose to respond to this post please share a few things that make us a good fit, as well as what you are most excited about doing while you bare in the area. I look forward to meeting you, please reach out if you have questions.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    People who stay with us enjoy our interest in their lives, global issues and enjoy being a real part of our family. This means coming with us on outings if desired, learning about gardening, cheese making, food preservation and whatever else we are up to. Weather and time permitting we try to get out into nature and include our volunteers in this experience. Everyone that has come has focused on different tasks. We enjoy discussions, games, outdoor activities and a large part of our life is about producing and preserving food for our family (and you) to enjoy.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We live in a small home with a large yard and garden that continues to expand. We have eleven fruit trees. We always need help with mulching, pruning, weeding, planting and harvesting, depending on the season. We also have two growing energetic children. We may ask helpers to babysit or assist with child and pet care when we get to know you. We are interested in help interacting and sharing culture and language with all of us. In our home you will be a part of the family, this means that help takes many forms. You will be a part of the family and pitch in where ever and however needed. Usually there is a small task, a larger task and some daily chores. We also would love to have some french speaking guests to share the language with our kids who attend a French school. We try to keep a list of a variety of jobs so that volunteers can select something they enjoy doing. We do not expect everyone to be a fit with our children, but enjoying children is a necessary quality for this placement. We love your stories, playfulness and energy that you bring into the home, as this above all else is about a cultural exchange between you and our family. We look forward to meeting you!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Italian: Intermédiaire
    Spanish: Débutant
    French: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A queen size bed upstairs in our home or a double bed bunk in our guest house outside, accommodation depends on our family situation. We have a single shared bathroom downstairs.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Victoria has many amazing sites, both natural and historic. There are art museums, stunning gardens, many city parks, as well as amazing islands and provincial parks to explore. From downtown you can take tours of the city, go whale watching or travel to see the wild west coast of Vancouver Island in Tofino or go to Seattle on the Clipper. Vancouver Island is a scenic wonderland! I have lived here for 16 years and there are still islands and epic beaches I have not yet seen.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















N° de référence hôte : 784664773269