Farm stay on small permaculture farm in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 145 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.10.2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for some helpers to allow us to keep up with the demands of the busy developing hobby farm. We are a professional family of four living on 7 acres near the city limits of Nanaimo working to convert the once horse farm to provide food for ourselves and the community who support our farm. Our permaculture farm is working towards regenerative agriculture with building soil quality and water retention being a long term goal. My wife works for the power utility and I work as a science Teacher (on call this year) and an ice sculptor and some part-time math tutoring.
    Because of my teaching background and our farms location and diverse operations we are positioned well for offering educational field trips and tours on the farm. Our kids (10 and 12) are active and creative - taking music lessons and horseback riding lessons. Our kids are in a french immersion school and like meeting new people. We enjoy having couples but are open to single travelers too. We are happy to pick you up from the Ferry terminal or airport in Nanaimo.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My wife and I are well traveled and enjoy sharing our love of travel and meeting new people. The thought of sharing our space with some fellow travelers is exciting. The chance to have help on our beautiful developing permaculture farm is a wonderful way to get to know people on a more personal level. We enjoy playing games and going on adventures. We don't watch much TV but don't mind some relaxing time with the family playing games or watching a movie. We love eating good food and sharing our food and kitchen with others and learning about what food our guests would normally eat.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Lots to do on our busy little farm. We'll keep you busy with a variety of jobs. Most of the time we will work together but some days we will leave a list of projects for you to complete. Many projects are underway including beekeeping (expanding all the time), chickens (for meat and eggs), Geese (to protect the chickens), Sheep (not for wool) and sometimes turkey. Watering and feeding animals a few times a day is one ongoing task. We pick up waste food from a few restaurants and let our chickens pick through it before mixing it into a compost system to finish the break down. We generally follow the deep litter method but occasionally need to clean out the animals stalls. I enjoy being frugal and building DIY projects and learning new skills and farming tips and skills. Some of the original animal stalls need some repair. Setting up and moving electric fence system in the pasture to move the animals on a rotational basis. Orchards are being planted and pruned with plans on planting amongst the trees to further improve the soils and moisture. Other project are building a rainwater harvesting systems, ponds and other water catchment systems around the farm to help retain more moisture for our dry summers and support biodiversity. Some weeding and planting in the garden will be needed. We are mostly an animal farm. The 40 year old barn is being repaired and improved as time permits. The gardens are being expanded all the time. We finally got the automatic watering system installed- thanks to our amazing French Workaway. Amazing!
    Unfortunately our best soil is the farthest distance from the house and water. Installing a pipe to provide access to this area is needed. Other possible projects could be building a greenhouse, brick pizza oven, installing solar panels on the house/barn, and setting up and improving a rain harvesting system for the barns.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We eat as local as much as possible. Which means that food from the farm is often served. Meat is a common part of our diet even though vegetarians are accommodated.

    The accommodations for quests is a cute cottage very near our house that is in the shape of a hexagon. It is a unique and beautiful building approx 300 sq ft that contains a queen sized bed, dresser for clothes, a piano, a TV and a foosball table. There is a bathroom in the barn (but no shower there yet) and also a private, separate bathroom/shower in the house about equal distance walk to either bathroom. The house is recently fully renovated rancher with nice open spaces and even a covered back patio. There is also a large private room in the barn that is liveable (we lived there while we renovated the house for three months). This could be a private area to hang out, play games or socialize by the fire pit.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are less than a Km from the city amenities such as shopping, yoga, beer pubs, coffee shops, indoor rock climbing gym and bowling. The city is a major hub on the island with quick access to the Vancouver area with a ferry, or planes. Depending on the time of year there are plenty of outdoor activities to do such as swimming, kayaking, skiing, hiking, boating, and mountain biking. We have an full grown puppy (poodle/pointer cross) who is in obedience training but gets excited with strangers but is able to settle quickly. We have a pottery wheel In our art studio in the barn. We have a wide variety of games and like to play those at night.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5-6 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 781689149518