Masia (rural house) in Valls, Tarragona, Spain

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 108 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Hi Everyone!

    My name is Maria, I am a Spanish/Swiss woman of 59 years old.

    I live in a beautiful masia (rural house) with 2,5 hectare land, outside of Valls in the Tarragona region.

    Currently I share the house with a Spanish couple good friends of mine, Andrés and Ana, he is bricklayer and she cook. We help each other in everything we can. We have three dogs: Kram, Edu and Cloe; and two turtles: Matilda and Catalina and soon 6 chickens will be added to the family

    After living abroad for many years, I am returning home to make my dream true: live in my country house in a sustainable multicultural way and as self-sufficient as possible

    I am offering full accommodation in exchange of some help with the house and landscape. There is a variety of tasks to do in order to renew my home in which I will need help:

    • Maintain the land
    • Build a vegetable garden
    • Animal care

    I am looking for motivated and proactive people that would like to contribute and share points of view. All ideas are welcome, and I will be very thankfully for people who want to share knowledge and experience.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    My intention is to integrate the workwayers as part of the family. It would be great to cook together, and share recipes, we eat meat and fish.

    You will experience living in a traditional masía located in the rural area of Tarragona.

    Our first language is Spanish, but you will be able to mix with local people who speak Catalan.
    I can speak fluently English, Swiss and German.

    My hobby is painting and if we find the time you can also join me if you want.

  • Aide


    I need people eager to help me with the house and landscape, particularly in the following tasks:

    • Maintain the land
    Cut the grass, prune some trees, chop firewood, remove the bramble, store wood in the shed, etc.

    • Build a vegetable garden
    My aim is to be as self-sustainable as possible, by growing my own food using organic and bio intensive practices and by trading surplus with others.
    For this, it is needed to prepare the landscape, build a rainwater collector system, grow the seeds, tend to the vegetable plot, weed, water and harvest vegetables.

    • Animal care: help in cleaning and daily feeding of 6 chickens and 2 turtles

    • House hold and garden : cleaning and small repairs. Keep the shared areas clean and tidy

    • I have a lot of wood and pallets, and someone with knowledge of carpentry would be very welcome, since I would like to make a new shed for storage in the garden

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am used to living in a multicultural environment and I would love to continue speaking and learning and teaching languages

  • Hébergement


    There is one big bedroom with two single beds. I will provide bedding and towels. We have two shared bathrooms, one in each floor.

    We have two kitchen: one inside the house and a garden kitchen. Each kitchen has its own fridge where you can keep any food you would like for your own. I will provide Breakfast, lunch and dinner during your stay, and water coffee and tee will be always available, note that Snacks and soft drinks will not be provided.

    As we are off grid, we need to be very mindful by using our water, we have strict rules to not waste water, one example are short showers and reuse water for watering garden, and many more we will explain when you come.

    Besides that, the house is connected to mainstream power sources we have electricity and high speed internet access.

    You can smoke outside without problem.

    I recommend this place to volunteers who have their own transportation, otherwise they may feel isolated, since public transportation is not very regular here.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are lots of festivals in the Valls and surrounding area throughout the year, including the annual calçotada in Valls in January and the Castellers in Tarragona in September.

    The area offers lots of opportunities to enjoy the forest, mountains, animals, beach, and good weather. Also, you will have the chance to practice outdoor sports such as walking, hiking. There are also many small towns and cities that you can visit during your stay. If interested, I can provide you with information about what to see and to do in the region, as well as help you to plan your stay according to your interests.

    My home is located 20 minutes walking distance from Valls, where you can find parks, cafes, bars, restaurants, grocery stores and small shops. There is also a bus station in town with service to Barcelona (~one hour) and Tarragona which is only 20 minutes by car.

    If you plan in your free time to move and know this area then it is preferable to come with own car.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have high speed internet access

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have loads of space for you to park your vehicles. Must be able to drive on last bit of dirt road, around 0.5 k. There is not water hook up for campervan or motorhome, but bathroom is available inside the house.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Yes, if friendly, our dogs are very social.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 766221184419

Feedback (4)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)