Beautiful permaculture smallholding in Saint Ouen La Thene, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 1 fois
  • Activité récente: 1 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired British couple running a 1-acre permaculture smallholding in SW France. We are working towards self-sufficiency in food, water and energy. Not quite off the grid as yet, but getting there!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers can learn about keeping poultry, growing vegetables, self-sufficiency, food preservation, permaculture principles, hugelkultur, harvesting, propagation etc

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have all manner of outdoor tasks, from animal husbandry to tending our extensive vegetable plot, weeding, pruning, harvesting, food preserving, outbuilding maintenance etc.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Japonais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a comfortable double guest bedroom. Travellers can also pitch their tents on our land.
    If you choose to stay in our guest bedroom you will have access to a shower and toilet for your sole use.
    There is a compost toilet outside for campers.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    If you like foraging, the surrounding area has many roadside cherry, fig, peach and walnut trees.

    We are 2 minutes walk away from a historic 'lavoir' where the local farmers' wives used to congregate to do wash their clothes. It is still in use and is fed by a local stream. The water is clear and fresh.

    There is a local viewing point (3 minutes walk) which features stunning views of the local countryside.

    The surrounding countryside is gently undulating, so great for cycling and walking.
    The Tour de France often comes to the area.

    The town of Saintes, on the river Charente, is a popular tourist destination and within a 40-minute drive. It features wonderful riverside eateries and markets. A great setting to chill on a warm summer's day.

    The town of Aulnay (20 mins drive) features a lively artisan's market every Sunday morning. The market is surrounded by cafes and restaurants - a great spot to people watch!

    If you crave a taste of city life during your stay, the historic city of Angouleme is but 40 minutes away and offers a thriving shopping district, historical landmarks and a buzzing night life.

    Both the beautiful city of Bordeaux and the picturesque Dordogne region are within 'day tripping' distance (2 and 1.5 hrs drive respectively).

    The market at Rouillac (20 minutes drive) takes place on the 27th of every month and is both vast and fascinating! You name it, they sell it. Not to be missed!

    There is a local bar / small shop in Bresdon (10 minutes walk), open during the summer months, where the local farmers hang out and drink wine. They sell most of the 'basics' such as milk, eggs, bread, sweets, biscuits, soft drinks and, of course, wine.

    We're about an hour away from Royan, a picturesque seaside resort with stunning white, sandy beaches. Great for day trips.

    The town of Cognac is close (30 mins) and is famous for, well, you guessed it, cognac! Most of the large distilleries offer guided tours. There are also many local small-scale cognac producers in the area, some also offering tours and most sell their wares (cognac and the local sweet wine Pineau de Charente).

    There is a restaurant / bar called FC Pougemin in nearby Louzignac (10 mins drive) that holds a very popular 'fish and chip night' every Friday. The owners are Belgian so the beer selection is vast and there are often live acts. It's very popular with local expats and summer visitors. On balmy summer evenings tables are outside in their courtyard and in winter they move into a large, cozy barn. FC Pougemin's Facebook page includes their live act listings.

    For those wanting a more formal evening meal, there is a very good restaurant in La Pinelle 'La Table du Chef Corvez' (7 minutes drive) which offers very reasonably priced food, including some french classics. Their web site includes an example menu.

    There is also a permanent 'brocante' (antique flea market) in La Pinelle which you can browse by appointment.

    Various fairs, brocantes, festivals and markets take place in local villages during the summer months. The wine festival in Beauvais (5 mins drive) is a highlight for us and generally takes place at the end of May!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Class B or C should be OK. We have a gravelled drive and large, reasonably well drained grassy area. Our land features a perimeter wall and gated entrance.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 764954856614

Feedback