Help a long term expat create my website for my stories in Bali, Indonesia

Country

Indonésie

Enregistré comme favori 187 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.07.2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    81 yr. old American expat living in Bali for the past 21 years. A clutz with computers except as word processors. I taught English in a gov't trade school here for 10 years and started writing stories and books for my students. Friends urged me to put it all on a web-site but the process was -and still is - beyond me. The woman who built and maintained the site passed away and I currently have two novels and several short children's books I need to add. A bit of who I am is on that site too. I live in North Bali with my Balinese wife. Her son, his wife and two kids live in our front house. We live in the back with our oldest granddaughter, Core, who is seven and speaks better English than most of the teachers at her school. Her two younger brothers spend a lot of time here too.
    If you rent a motorbike you can day trip to almost anywhere in Bali from here.A lot has changed here since I wrote it but it will give you an idea of the ambiance of this island.
    I was fortunate to move to Bali when I did, since I live on my SSI checks which are fairly small since I did a lot of things like acting, working for Greenpeace, and was disabled for six years after an accident. My land and houses would cost me about 25 times as much to build today as they did 20 years ago. (We also have a small swimming pool and are only half a mile from the Bali Sea and its beaches.
    Our guests would get the big bedroom - except that on the four days a week when Core is here, we watch movies on the TV in there until about 9 pm.. I have a collection of about 1000 movies We have a hot shower and a sit-down toilet - although you have to flush the latter by ladling water into it. Guests would be eating with Core and me. We eat western food two or three nights a week and Balinese food the rest of the time. Breakfasts here are simple: a bowl of fruit, toast and coffee or tea. Lunches are usually just soup and sandwiches. Suppers range from cheese burgers and french fries to mie goreng (fried noodles with chicken) with watermelon for desert.
    Bali is still a great place to visit although the island is getting crowded. The population was 2 million when I moved here and almost 4 and a half million now. Which often means gridlock in the cities. We live in what used to be a farming village - in fact on the land that my wife was born on. There are three times as many houses on our gang as there were when we built ours. There is also a Hindu temple right across the gang which can be noisy on dark and full moon nights.
    Despite two terrorist attacks some years ago by Javanese hard-line muslim extremists, Bali is a peaceful island where Islam and Hinduism and Christianity all live side-by-side. My step son and his family are Islam. My wife, her daughter and her husband and kids are Hindu. I am a pagan with a Christian education and a background in Native American and European shamanism. We celebrate everything at our house.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide informatique / Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    When I taught school here the teachers would often sent foreign visitors to me. "Ask Gungkak (grandfather) Bob," they would tell them. "He knows more about our culture than we do." That was a great exaggeration. Bali has a very complex culture. What I did know that most of them didn't was the folklore and stories that are sadly becoming forgotten. I think many of my students learned as much Bali history and folklore as they did English. A lot of them are teaching English now and passing along the cultural material I taught them.

  • Aide

    Aide

    My website was created by a computer expert and is way beyond what I imagined it could be. I can have the ms. edited, and ready for downloading, but creating the covers and the various directories is beyond me. Again, downloading my website will pretty much show you what I need.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Indonesian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation would be in the main house. We have a beautiful tropical garden. Guests would have the bedroom and of course the use of my office and e-mail. I sleep sort-of outdoors in a pondok, which is usually just a floor, four posts and a roof, but mine has a back wall.My wife and daughter share a second bedroom next to the swimming pool pondok. We live about 8 kilometers from Singaraja, which used to be the capital but now is just a sprawling city. The beach is half a mile away. Lovina, the most popular tourist destination for night life is also only a mile away.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    One can motorbike day trip to almost anywhere on the island from here, though I usually advise visitors to spend at least two nights in Ubud experiencing the music and dance. You can walk to Lovina and the beaches in 20 minutes or so, although the pool is a lot cleaner for swimming. We expect our visitors to be clean, laid-back and friendly. My Balinese wife has an explosive temper but usually only directed at me or the government and never when it comes to foreign guests. I am 81 years old. I was once the Non-Violence Trainer for Greenpeace U.S.A. so I'm pretty easy to get along with. I once managed to go 6 years without losing my temper once. Then I moved here and married a Balinese woman. Losing my temper is easy now, though never at guests.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 763388836939