Come and help out at my place and enjoy cycling and excursions together near an idylic small seaside town in Wales, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 213 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    182

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Retreat at the Welsh coast - without any covid or lockdown rules and no isolation necessary

    -{ Ideally looking for workaways from Europe or Russia/Ukraine }-

    Hi there, my name is Seth and I'm a middle-aged British guy with a professional background in I.T, English language teaching and photography.
    I bought a large detached countryside house with my brother & sister. I need help with renovation and maintenance of the property and it's gardens.

    My brother and sister are not living at the property this season, although they will be visiting most weeks.

    I love playing tennis, squash, badminton, windsurfing, archery, mountain climbing, camping/hiking, computers, guitar and photography. I'd be happy to do (or teach) any of these sports with any workawayer who is interested. Also I have a passion for philosophy, spirit and metaphysics and looking deeper in the world's secret mysteries and I'm currently writing a book / thesis in this field.

    The property is up on a hill and surrounded by nature, fields, small wild woods and there is breathtaking coastline & beaches the other side of the hill (4 km).

    Our local town (Cardigan) is a peaceful picturesque historic town with part of an ancient castle and a beautiful river running through it to the sea nearby. It's a quiet area, far from the noise of any cities. I have several bicycles, you can cycle into town in just 20 minutes or to the local beach or coast walk (also 20 minutes).

    Also I have 2 friendly and affectionate young cats (2 years old) who live out in the stables and love to be stroked and given some attention (they only live outdoors and don't come inside the house).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Great space here to find calm and peace (do meditation or yoga etc), also for reading, sunbathing on the beach or walking in the nature/cycling/swimming etc). There are buses from the local town and I have bicycles so you can explore. We can also go all cycling together to some place.
    A couple of times each week we can go out on an interesting excursion or for some sport somewhere/

    I am around to socialise for sometime in the evening on most days and on some renovation projects we will do these together, so I can help with language practice if you need. I'm happy to go with you by car to some cultural events happening around (such as live music gigs in the local pubs). Also I can play sport with you such as tennis, badminton, squash, table-tennis, archery).

    I am a qualified English teacher, so I can give some help each week with English (and photography lessons or computer software lessons such as Photoshop etc).

    So mostly this is a Workaway exchange of:

    - experiencing local Welsh cultural events (when they occur) and life in the local Welsh towns and villages
    - free nutritious food and good accommodation at a house in the countryside near the sea
    - a calm, quiet, cosy space that is ideal for your private studies, yoga, meditation, relaxation, coastal walks etc
    - some help or practice in: English, photography, computer software or in sports such as tennis/badminton/squash/tabletennis.
    - bicycles available for you to explore the beautiful nature and coastline
    - An excursion or two each week, to visit, for example: castles, iron-age forts, waterfalls, hiking on the hills or cliffs, secluded beaches and caves, seals or dolphin watching, Lagoon aqua park, St David's cathedral, canoeing on the river).

  • Aide

    Aide

    It would be nice to have people here to stay at my place who love the peaceful countryside, sea and nature and who are generally happy to occupy their own time, because I may be rather busy sometimes, but able to spend a few days each week to go out and show you some nice excursions / good sightseeing places / walks in West Wales.

    The schedule is quite flexible and you can usually choose which parts of each day you wish to do the tasks..

    Examples of tasks to help with (some are optional and depend on skills and abilities):

    - cutting up various branches, logs and planks into firewood
    - painting the house exterior with white paint
    - planting grass seed on the new lawn and raking it flat
    - tending the vegetables in the vegetable patch
    - digging up some weeds in the vegetable garden
    - digging a short narrow water trench 5m in length for drainage.
    - Painting wood preserver on the eaves just under the roof of the house
    - fixing and varnishing the bamboo floorboards from the studio
    - Feeding the 2 cats
    - Managing the recycling
    - Cooking a meal each day (generally vegetarian (nothing difficult required)
    - Washing up the dishes
    - Keeping the kitchen clean

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Russian: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Update: I do not pay attention to the ridiculous government regulations on c0vid, I also do not observe any lockdown rules and whilst here you are free to go out to walk where you wish, there is no requirement to stay in the house (although it's fine to tell the authorities that you are "isolating" here, even if you're not in actual fact))

    Initially it's preferred to take on a workaway volunteer for a short period (up to 2 weeks) - however this might be extended if sufficient work projects are still available. Please - I'm looking for only workaway volunteers who are very tidy and clean. It's important for me that the kitchen and living room must be kept very clean.

    It's a detached rural house a few km from an idylic small seaside town. Very peaceful and quiet with pure water from a spring source, lovely nature around and fresh air (can be rather windy here at times though).
    Our guest volunteer(s) will have own smart, warm, clean private bedroom and smart bathroom nearby and shared kitchen, living room.

    The house has amenities to a high standard: such as washing machine, cooker, good electric shower, bath, Fibre broadband fast internet WIFI etc.
    The living room is cosy with a large woodburner for evening relaxing. We have here a table-tennis table and also badminton net, and various table games too. There are also tennis courts in Cardigan with a leisure centre/gym/swimming pool less than 4km from here.
    The house has central heating and also extra electric heaters. Electric shower gives hot water 24/7. Your room has a brand new renovation, new carpets etc and is dry and warm with a proper bed and good mattress, duvet etc.

    I try to buy all organic and natural food products too. So there will be always plenty of good quality food for a tasty breakfast, lunch and supper each day for you. (Mostly semi-vegetarian eg: soya/quorn/beans/cheese, also eggs sometimes) with grains/vegetables etc. Cereals / porridge, toast / yoghurt / fruit for breakfast. If you need meat, that is fine - you can eat prepared meat here, but cannot cook meat in the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    .

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    18 to 20 hours a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















N° de référence hôte : 759879468963