Come and enjoy the sunshine! Child care and household help wanted in Melbourne, Australia.



Enregistré comme favori 120 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

  • Description


    We have availability for a single or a couple from Mid July 2020. With the current Covid 19 restrictions you will have to already be in Australia.

    Hi! We are a family of 4 living in the Northern Melbourne suburbs. We are looking for people to come and help us manage the day to day running of the house and assist with childcare. It would be ideal if you speak French but we are happy to consider everyone.

    We love travelling and usually go overseas once or twice a year as well as a couple of trips within Australia. We enjoy meeting interesting people from around the world. We incorporate travel as a big part of our homeschooling lifestyle and we are always planning out next adventure.

    We live in the northern suburbs of Melbourne. It is an easy walk to the tram (no 86) line and then just over 1 hour into the centre of the city. There is shopping within 1km of our house and have easy access to trains, busses and trams. We love living in Melbourne and try to go out and explore as much as we can.

    We have room from early May onwards. Autumn brings cool mornings and colourful leaves 🍁 falling from the trees. Keep in mind this is Melbourne, always make sure you have jeans and a jumper, a hat and sunscreen. The weather here can change quickly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Being part of our family for a time, we will build a relationship and share our culture and lifestyle with you. We hope that you will share/teach us also. How much you benefit is really up to you. Bring a good attitude and be flexible!

    We are an active family and you are welcome to join us on our adventures. As homeschoolers we are very active in our community. Mondays during the school term we spend at our homeschool co op. The children have various sports and music lessons. We are often out and about with our friends and on educational excursions. You are welcome to join us as much as you like.

    Live on Melbourne's doorstep and explore! Melbourne is a fascinating mix of food, coffee, sport and arts. Melbourne is one of the few places in Australia where you are 3 hours from the snow and less than 1 hour from a beautiful beach.

    Melbourne is the most vibrant city in Australia. Public transport runs all night Friday and Saturday.

    Come and practice your conversational English skills and experience Australian culture while sharing your language and culture with us.

    Melbourne has mercurial weather so please be prepared for 4 seasons in a day.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are looking for a Demi-Pair to help with light housework and childcare for 4 hours per day/ 4 days a week and the occasional Saturday night.

    Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday mornings from 7:30am to 11:30am (this may change a little depending on time of year and work commitments). We do require you to sleep at home the night before you work. Also we will ask you to babysit 1 or 2 Saturday evenings per month. We can organise this around your schedule.

    This is NOT a paid position. You will help us for approximately 17.5 hours a week in exchange for a room and meals. Some weeks you may work 15 hours, some weeks you may work 20.

    Duties will include guiding the children through their morning routines, some light housework and getting the children outside to play and be active. We are very relaxed parents (a connected and relaxed family is our goal although we are only human and sometimes fall short). The position is more facilitating than babysitting. The children are 8 and 11 and they can do most things themselves, they may just need a reminder. We will be encouraging you and the children to get out of the house in the morning. We have 5 playgrounds within 1 km of our front door, bicycles, scooters etc. Sometimes it is fun to just go to the park and kick a ball in the sunshine.

    A couple are expected to contribute for 17.5 hours each person. We will do the best to synchronise these hours to maximise your free time.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Your accommodation is a private bedroom with a queen sized bed and plenty of storage. This is suitable for 1 or 2 people willing to share a bed. There are photos of this room in our album.

    All sheets, towels, pillows, blankets are included however you will be doing all of your own washing/laundry.

    You'll be welcomed into the family. As part of the family we will expect some light help/cleaning up-- just general helpfulness and participation with things like clearing the table, packing the dishwasher after meals etc -- in addition to your time volunteering.

    We do not accept any smokers, period. Also, no marijuana or other illegal substances, no e-cigarettes, either. With kids around we want to keep the "family " atmosphere.

    Unlimited internet and netflix. (Australian internet is slow when compared to some other countries).

    You will be sharing the bathroom with the children and occasionally guests .

    We will share our meals with you (not suitable for vegetarians, vegans or very fussy eaters). In Australia we have the largest meal of the day at night. We also have room in the fridge and pantry if you want to keep some of your own food. Most breakfasts and lunches will be "serve-yourself" but most dinners will be together with us. In your introduction please tell us your favourite food so we know you've read this. :)

    We are 20km north of the city. 900m walk to the tram into the city, depending on traffic it can take 70 or 80 minutes to get to the CBD. Trams depart every 9 to 15 minutes during the day. The trams run all night Friday and Saturday. There is also a bus stop about 150m away that will take you to the local large shopping centre and train station. It is approximately $8.60 adult fare return from home to the city. There are 2 smaller shopping centres and a factory outlet less than 1km from home.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours a day / 4 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 746282333683