1 / 5

Spend time with horses in a beautiful country environment near Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • Australie
  • Enregistré comme favori 150 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 déc. 2022



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    We need help with mowing (zero turn, whipper snipper, outdoor work, fencing and house cleaning) and sorting out our farm sheds. Fluent English essential. We are a family of two and sometimes three (when she is home from University) independent teen daughters, ten (or so) horses, three dogs and a cat. We have veggie gardens and a farm to take care of which keeps us mostly outdoors and very busy. Both of us work full time away so there is often free time during the day. Our local area is beautiful and our previous travellers have loved the area. It is suited to people who enjoy a quiet country lifestyle (with a noisy, busy family :) We are experienced hosts and can host one female, or possibly a couple/two friends travelling together and we have some flexibility for longer term stays to stay two weeks on/travel for two weeks/return. Helpers must be independent thinkers as I work from home and off site. A vehicle may be available for local travel. Please check in with us as plans for travellers sometimes change and vacancies come up last minute. So talk with us :).

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are experienced hosts and travellers can learn to grow veggies, care for horses and some riding may be possible only under supervision when an adult is home to supervise). We live in a beautiful, friendly country area for travellers to experience the real life in Australia, as opposed to a resort or holiday home. . Our property suits people that want to be out of the city in nature. We do lots of groundwork and training with horses, including barefoot hoof trimming and can teach these skills. It is great if people have basic horse handling skills, like leading, cleaning feet or a sensible approach and common sense attitude. We also sometimes make home brew beer and enjoy having a social drink with our helpers.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Important: As anyone who has been around horses will know that they are lots of work and the ratio of work to fun is about 3:1. We work with our horses on the ground and under saddle which you are able to learn and help us with. Assistance is needed to feed and care for horses and other pets. Other chores include: collect our daughters from bus stop, drive them to part time jobs, water veggie gardens, general household duties, assist with preparing meals, washing, ironing and cleaning. Our travellers need to know how to do basic household tasks and have normal skills adults possess. We have limited time to instruct and watch over every task, However, we will happily show you tasks that are new to you.

    Travellers need to be independent and able to be on their own during the day at times. Independent life skills are important - helpers must have lived out of home before. Must hold a drivers license to drive in Australia and at least two years driving experience. English language skills must be sufficient to stay safe and follow instructions on a farm with animals and other safety hazards. It is important to us that our Helpers respect the goodwill of Workaway as a host program to learn other cultures. As experienced hosts we think it is important to set out clear expectations - helpers who are solely using Workaway to save money, or a room-dwellers and anti-social would be better contacting paid accommodation providers. You will be living in a home with children and must behave respectfully.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Beautiful, modern home with views and large swimming pool. Guest room has queen size bed. We eat healthy, home cooked meals, multicultural meals, mostly vegetarian with some chicken and meat.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is no transport nearby so travellers must have a drivers license. A vehicle (manual) can possibly be supplied for stays of 2 weeks plus - but some conditions apply from our insurance company and other than short drives in the local area we do not supply fuel. There are beautiful lakes and bushwalks nearby and there are often kangaroos and other wildlife on our property. The local town, Boonah, is a lovely country town only five minutes away. It has a large supermarket and most other services people need. On days off it is possible to come with me to work in the city, to catch a train elsewhere for short trips or day trips if I am not working at home due to Covid restrictions. We also have kayaks and stand up paddleboards to use on the nearby lake. Past travellers have done 3 day trips to Fraser Island etc. using our home as a base. We expect respectful guests to be included as part of the family and cannot host smokers.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Plenty of space - running water and electricity available.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 743956231645

Feedback (7)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)