Join us in the fight against deforestation in Western Zambia

Country

Zambie

Enregistré comme favori 19 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Namwaka. I live in Silundu, a small village 12 km south of Mongu, Western Province, together with Godfrey my husband, my three children: Elijah, Elizabeth and Lydia, and our two dogs: Brownbomba and Sochala.

    Our place is situated on a hill, surrounded by some very old Rosewood trees. Down hill there is a small stream. The area is very quiet, and in the mornings you will hear the birds singing. whilst during the nights you will be able to silently gaze at the stars.

    I am an environmentalist. There are two things I love: growing organic food, and enjoying the beauty of trees and the beautiful priceless air they provide us! Sadly, Zambia is currently suffering from a very high rate of deforestation, which is devestating human food supplies, ravaging natural habitats of animals, as well as causing further climate change.

    We firmly believe that the key in stopping deforestation, is held by the local communities. It’s for this reason that one of the aims of our project is to make members of our community aware of the seriousness of the deforestation that our country is undergoing, as well as the impact that climate change has.

    Next to bringing awareness, our project is working on a method of producing charcoal briquettes made from organic waste material, as an alternative for conventional charcoal that is currently being used which is one of the main drives to deforestation . If successfull, this coud be an important step in bringing deforestation to a halt.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In the western Province, we the lozi tribe have a traditional ceremony every year called Kuomboka ceremony which attracts different people from all walks of life to attend it. It is normally held every year in April or may. For more information, you can look up " Kuomboka Ceremony" . This ceremony is the pride of the Lozi speaking people. Foreign volunteers are welcome to my village anytime.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Since we are a new organization, we would love to have people that can help teach us how to run the foundation, grant writing and share more new ideas about organic farming/ gardening and even partnering with our Foundation, sustainability and ecoprojects and building, animal husbandry. All ideas are welcome!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Setswana: Courant
    Sesotho: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Foreign volunteers are welcome to my village anytime. We have hatched reed houses with an out door toilet.We do not have access to electricity but we use solar lighting. Life is fun out here! It's cool and quiet! Mongu town is about 13 km from our village, we have easy access to public transport to buy our groceries. We hope to hear from you all

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During time off, we can visit the Sioma falls and the Victoria falls . We have a Royal palace where our King lives called " limulunga village" it's also an interesting place to visit.during the rain season, we go mushroom foraging! At night we watch the stars and mostly we have a very beautiful view of a full moon! We also tell stories around a camp fire at night! There is so much to do! There is never a dull moment.For some Christian believers, we encourage one another through bible studies and singing of praise hymns.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Here at our farm we have enough space to accommodate more than 50 people. Do come and experience the beautiful country breeze out here!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a very vast piece of land that can accommodate any type of campervan.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We accept dogs and cats

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 737616153285