Off grid farm in the making! Castelo Branco



Enregistré comme favori 18 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    We, Katja (german) and Robin (english) have been dive instructors in Egypt for a while, been travelling/living in a camper for a year after that and did a big tour on our motorclyles in the USA and central america. Now we feel like enjoying farm life and bought a little olive farm last year and try to make it into an off grid home.
    We have a small stone house and a side building (the old stables) that we are renovating at the moment, while we are also expanding a veggie and fruit garden. Since a few weeks we have three sheep and of course a cat and a dog. Our first olive harvest is successfully over and we have now more time to work on all the rest again.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    For people who are looking into a lifestyle like ours, it can be interesting to see how much work and what kind of work a farm really is. Also to deal with off grid living in its advantages and disadvantages. Living with animals, taking care of them and trying to produce (some of) your own food and living more self sufficiently.

  • Aide


    The work on a farm never stops... there are the daily tasks like animal care and watering plants but also the improvements, renovating, building. So we can always use help in the garden (watering, planting, caring, weeding, making beds, trimming ...). As we are still in the progress of renovating the little stone house, we also look for help there. You dont need to be a professional but of course we wouldnt mind experience in areas like woodwork, carpentry, natural building ...
    The projects that are upcoming next:
    -a new floor in the stone house
    -renovating the stable so it can be used as a summer house
    -building a water tower with piping to the house
    -making more veggie beds
    -more sheep fencing

    We want you to feel free to tell us honestly about the kind of work you want to do or where your limits are. There are many small tasks, so you can pick and choose if you get tired of one job or don't feel like its your thing.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    We only managed to renovate the little stone house where we are living in ourselves at the moment. So at the moment we can only offer a tent as soon as it gets warm enough or ideally you have your own camper to stay in :) We do have a compost toilet and a hot indoor shower and an outside solar shower and of course a kitchen.

    We provide breakfast, lunch and dinner (mostly vegan, always vegetarian).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are living outside a small town (Escalos de Baixo) which is a 10minutes walk from our farm. There is the Cafe Central with free Wifi and two little supermarkets, a pharmacy and an ATM machine. Nice walks in the suroundings are possible, the dog will be happy to join! Nearest big city is Castelo Branco, 15min by car. We go there often for shopping and you are welcome to join.
    Castelo Branco also has a train and bus station connected to the big cities. From the airport Lisbon the bus takes 2h30min and the train about 3h. There are slower and faster connection, depending if they go directly or not.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 721858243259