1 / 3

Help take care of and train sled dogs near Storslett, North-Norway

  • Enregistré comme favori 187 fois
  • Activité récente: 7 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Availability May-June 10th!

    We are a couple who live in Northern Norway, above the Arctic Circle, about 3.5 hours drive north of Tromsø in a valley called Reisadalen. We have a small kennel of 14 Alaskan huskies, two cats and a flock of hens of various breeds. I, Sanja, train the dogs for, and take part in, long distance sled dog races. Markus is more happy in activities like going ice-fishing on the mountains with the dogs :)

    We live in the middle of the nature and there is a lot to do for an active person. We are looking for a person who is responsible, positive, independent, love animals and outdoor life. Hopefully you also have some practical skills and can enjoy being alone, having company of the animals (since we work outside the kennel). We can offer a place to live, food and lots of quality time with the dogs. You'll learn about the art of feeding and training the dogs, and how to take care of these super athletes. Must have driving license (stick!), because we live about 20 km from the town, Storslett.

    Training and taking care of the dogs is very rewarding, but also very time consuming. We both work full time, so help with the animals is very welcome. Tasks consists of feeding the dogs, helping with the training, dog yard cleaning and maintenance, building new dog houses, taking care of the chickens, etc. Possibly also some help in the house.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In the area, Norwegian, Sami and Kven (Finnish ancestry) cultures have been present for a long time.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The main tasks are the dog training with a sled/cart/atv or letting them run loose in the yard, feeding, and cleaning the dog yard. When I'm away at work, you get to do this alone (you'll learn how), otherwise together with me.

    The dogs diet consists of raw meat among other things so you have to be able to handle this.

    We hope that you meet the following 'criteria':
    - Some prior experience with animal care
    - Have a genuine interest in the dogs and long distance dog sledding!
    - Like to be out in all kinds of weather
    - Good physical shape
    - Responsible, flexible
    - Have an eye for the detail
    - You must be a self-starter

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is available in a hut across the dog yard. Bathroom in the main house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Airport here is called Sørkjosen, and has flights to/from Tromsø. Or you can take a buss to/from Tromsø or Alta.

    The town, Storslett, has a cinema, a museum, restaurants, a bakery, supermarkets, and several other shops.

    In winter, you can go skiing (both cross country and ski touring, or ski with the dogs), ice-fishing, go on a moose safari (free, just around the house!) or whale safari, enjoy the northern lights, or sit outside and make a fire.

    In summer/autumn, you can go hiking, fishing, camping, swimming (if you like cold water ;) ), berry and mushroom picking etc.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 721742515188

Photos

Feedback

Help us with gardening, maintenance and woodwork in the Hurum peninsula, Norway
Help us looking after our horses and dogs at our family home in lovely Øvrebø, Norway