Come and learn more about wine in Stari Grad, Croatia

Country

Croatie

Enregistré comme favori 693 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.01.2022

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I have been making wine on the beautiful island of Hvar since 2014. I’ve made wine all over the world but chose Croatia to start my own winery. I currently make 7,000 bottles a year - it’s tiny. I work on my own so during harvest time I need a bit of help from friends and family. This year someone suggested Workaway and so here I am!

    I make minimal intervention wines so everything is very hands on. The work involves cleaning tanks and equipment in the winery, lifting cases of grapes into the crusher and then later into the press, coming with me to the vineyards to take samples to decide when to pick.
    Ideal for someone who wants to learn about all aspects of winemaking. The days can be long but I do make sure you get time off everyday to go swimming . And of course you get a case of the wine you helped to make! Sometimes it’s an early start and so,times it’s a late finish. It all depends on when the grapes come in. It’s hard, messy work but there’s always a beer and good food and wine at the end of the day.

    The accommodation is in a private room in the coastal village of Vrisnik so you don’t need transport to explore the beaches.

    One aspect I need to warn about is the bees and the wasps. Since the grapes are full of sugar there is often a bit of a feeding frenzy so this is not suitable for anyone who is allergic to wasps or bees.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As someone who’s a Master of Wine and made wines all around the world for over 20 years I can give you in insight into wine production and tasting. Not just my wines but wines from all around Croatia.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    It’s physical work with heavy lifting at times. Lifting crates of grapes and cleaning winery equipment. But also tasting and testing ferments, checking temperatures, visiting vineyards to collect samples.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private room in a house overlooking the sea, 5 minutes walk to a swimming spot and two minutes to bars, cafés and restaurants. Shared bathroom and kitchen. All food will be provided and a comprehensive tasting of Croatian wines and beers will be on offer.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The island of Hvar is one of the most beautiful places on earth. The sea is on your doorstep but bikes and mopeds are available for hire and amazing hills to hike in. Local buses to take you to other parts of the island or if I’m free I can drop you off in other villages.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Variable

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 721541147239