DIY projects for our family in the small village of Heerde, the Netherlands

Country

Pays-Bas

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 20 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    How nice that you found my profile page. My name is Silvia and I'm 63 years old. I live in a large land house in the countryside. I have two grown-up daughters (28, 35) and twin boys grandchildren of two years old that visit me regularly. Also part of the family is a cat, a dog, and two Icelandic horses.

    Last year I lost my husband to cancer. Now I live here alone in a big house with lots of land around it. As you can imagine, many small and large chores have to be done to maintain the premise. This is the main reason why I'm joining work away - the vision for what I want with the house and land is there, but I need some extra strength and expertise to carry it out.

    An excellent side effect of work away is the companionship, which I very much look forward to. Important to me is that the people who come to stay, are really looking for cultural exchange and companionship, in addition to food and lodging.

    I am a very independent person. I like to draw a plan and work on a particular task on my own for a while. But next to that, I enjoy the company and good kitchen-table conversations. My interest is broadly spread I enjoy topics like politics, sustainability, permaculture, health, and nutrition. But just as much I like to get to know about people and cultures.

    I am a violin teacher and am involved in politics in the municipality. Being creative is a real passion of mine - whether this is in music, on paper, or simply finding cool new solutions for things. I come from a musical family. I play the violin and there is a Piano. Let me know if you like to play an instrument you could bring one, or make use of our piano.

    Meanwhile, I too am hooked to the necessary netflix and apple tv. If watching TV is your thing, then I can provide good company in that;)

    I expect 5 hours of help a day, from Monday to Friday, so you are free for the weekend. If you would like to arrange things differently for a particular week, that's fine as well. I see meal preparation/laying the table, washing up, and keeping shared spaces tidy, as a shared responsibility. I presume around half an hour of your free time a day to do some of these normal "team-work" activities.

    I love people who are healthily motivated. It is important that you can have fun at work and that there is a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere in the house. You will never be left alone to figure out a task, and you can always ask questions or request my help. Enjoying the time and learning from each other is central to me.

    As I wrote earlier, we have two Icelandic horses. If you are into horses please do let me know. The horses are always available for care and attention. The horses are ridden but suitable only for experienced riders. For those with a lot of experience with horses there is the possibility for training or horseback riding.

    This profile page is a work in progress. If you are interested please just send me an email. If we seem to be a good match I can tell you more about me and answer your questions by mail or by phone.

    I speak Dutch and English fluently. My German is not bad, but a bit rusty.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in the middle of a nature area. The surroundings is therefor excellent for people that love hiking, cycling, horse riding and enjoying the nature in general.

    Close by there is a lake, called the "Heerder strand", which translates to Heerdes beach. It is in the middle of the forest, and is great in hot summer to take a dive.

    If you are interested in typical dutch architectue I would recommend visiting some cute little old towns, called "Hanze steden" nearby like; Hattem, Zwolle, Kampen en Deventer.

    The town Heerde is 10 min walk away or a bike ride of less then 5 minutes. Heerde is a cute little place for a nice cup of coffee or an ice cream. On Friday morning there is small farmers market, where you can local products such our haring, cheese and candy.
    There is a buss nearby that connects you to bigger towns such as Zwolle en Apeldoorn.

    A visit of Amsterdam is possible in one day. However it would be 2 hours traveling with public transport. By car it is 1 hour and 15 minutes. The Netherlands is a small country, you can reach bigger cities and different parts of the Netherlands nature wise within a few hours.

    Together we can learn a lot about DIY projects. I have been delving into permaculture for a few years now. I like to tell you about the things i've learned and I applied so far.

    I could teach you about cooking especially according to the Whals, Keto and Paleo diet. I would love to let you taste our local products and tell you about our culture.

    I'm a violin teacher, so if you are interested in some lessons just let me know.

    Trip and vacation planning is a small passion of mine so I would love to help you find, select and plan exciting trips in the area for when you are staying with me. Together we could develop an initial plan before you travel so you can make the most out of your free time here in one of the most beautiful areas of the Netherlands!

    Above all, I offer a lot of sociability. If you like watching TV, doing crafts, making music, I'm often happy to join you or keep you company. Via traveling I came in contact with many countries and cultures. I really enjoy meeting new people and talking about different nations, philosophies, and perspectives. But I just as much like to watch series or movies on Netflix and apple tv.

    If you are daring, I could teach or help you practice Dutch. Be warned Dutch is a difficult language.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As I described above, I mainly need help with chores around the house.

    You can think of tasks such as:
    * painting, sanding, carpentry, grouting
    * electricity chores
    * jobs around the house
    * gardening (permaculture)
    * bigger and smaller cleaning and tidying up jobs in the house
    * taking care of the animals
    Anyway, occasionally I wouldn't mind if someone would cook for me or take over some other household tasks.

    Any specilised or handy men or woman are more then welcome. A few big project that come to mind are finishing and repairing the electricity connections in the house, repairing woodwork and lots of painting jobs.

    Now and then my daughter from Switzerland and her two sons come to stay with me. During these weeks I mainly need help with cooking, shopping and other household tasks.

    The next time will be: the first weeks of April 2021.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I have a beautiful big house with garden in the countryside. I live in a village called Heerde which lies on the edge of the nature park "de Veluwe". For people who love the outdoors, this place is ideal. Within a few minutes you are in the middle of the forest or on the heath, where you can walk or cycle endlessly.

    I have a large garden (and herb garden) that you are welcome to use. The garden is romantic and very inviting to spend your free time chilling in the sun. A lot of the flowers are blooming in spring and summer. There are mullbery, apple and pear trees in you seek shade on hot days. For those people that like doing yoga or meditation think about moving your practice outside! Since a few years we have a large pond with fishes behind the house where it is idyllic to sit and read or relax.

    You will get your own room upstairs with a shared bathroom (in case there are more guests).

    You are welcome to make use of the kitchen or to join me in the living room. Since recently we have optical fiber for internet, so it is also suited for people that depend on using the internet a lot.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 719828123416