Join our smallholding in a Georgian country house - Kells, Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 33 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.05.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family with a small holding of 8 acres. Our wonderful Georgian country house was built in the 1850s and it has many historical stories to tell, we even have our own resident ghost haha!!!
    On our 8 acres we have a small orchard, a large polytunnel and raised beds for growing fruit and vegetables, we raise our own meat for the freezer, beef, lamb, pork etc. In August we take stock of around 200 turkeys to raise for Christmas. We keep chickens, ducks, geese, emu, peacocks, guinea fowl, turkeys, bees, pigs, cows, lambs, Silco the horse, dogs and cats. We also incubate eggs all year round
    We are looking for strong motivated enthusiastic people with a willingness to learn.
    At our Farm you can expect to be kept busy with exciting and satisfying tasks, In return for great hospitality, great tasting wholesome food and comfortable living accommodation with your own private bedrooom.
    Any of you who think you may have Irish roots i'm a qualified genealogist and historian and may be able to help find your ancestors.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux
    Travail associatif

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    self sustainability, rural Ireland, Irish history, animal husbandry and welfare, incubation periods and hatching of poultry.

    Kells is a town steeped in ancient history and your host happens to be a family historian, so anyone who thinks they may have Irish roots, Karen will be happy to help.
    There is a bus route to and from Dublin, and the airport, where you can reach anywhere within Ireland by bus or train within a couple of hours.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Projects for 2019 include building a new soft fruit garden, creating a pond, renovation of two stone barns, land clearing, along with growing our own fruit and vegetables. Tending to live stock needs, feeding, cleaning etc. Watering plants, weeding, fertilizing etc

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    1 single room in main house, a double room and single room in a static home. All meals amd snacks are provided for and will be in the main house

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 715259323334