Help fix the house and gardens and enjoy the beauty of the area, Roscommon, Ireland



Enregistré comme favori 31 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

  • Description


    I am a single guy with a past history of M.E. (an auto immune illness) 17 years which I fixed using naturals. I bought an old house on a small plot of half an acre. I need to do too much to mention. My house is an old school house on the borders of Roscommon and Mayo close to Knock airport (15) mins. A train from Dublin stops 5 miles away. On its way to Westport.The area has 9 large lochs and 12 smaller lochs within 5 miles. The closest loch is a few hundred yards away and is used for all sports as well as swimming. It is a beautiful loch generally used by the locals as it is not advertised. I am equi distance from the Sligo and Mayo Coast, 45 mins to Sligo Coast and 50 mins to Westport, 50 mins to Galway.The area is full of places to see, mainly quiet and unspoilt. A rural area it is. Pub is as far as the loch. I live on my own and have a couple of spare bedrooms. It has all basics and no neighbours. So quiet it is. Both the house and garden require work to make good. I have some heart damage from long term inflammation of the hyperthalamus and thus most of the body. So I am restricted in what I can do. Hence needing the help. Any trainee docs etc I can inform them of the real illness . Along with an extensive understanding of the immune system and how to rectify auto immunes be it cancers or whatever. There is horrendous misinformation on M.E which was dictated back in 1965 by a politician. Thus the WHO def is not only incorrect it is constantly altering the term and has done so horrendously so , still based on a politician and without any medical foundation whatsoever. Even its title definition is ignored by every doc and his dog which is stupidity itself. I am always happy to enlighten the thoughtless, ignorant and brain dead.
    I am also a trained potter/sculptor and have created a unique material, but havent got a workshop, it may be part of my plans. Dependent on the help I get. See one of me pics as an example. The House looks ok from the outside but is in need of lots of tlc. Good internet access which I turn off for the benefit of bees etc as and when required. Before I got ill I was a keen runner daily for 26 years, so I love runners end of story. I have respect for positivity in action. I went from being extremely fit to having to lie in my own doings as no one thinks you are ill....Again moronic in the extreme. Oh my did I have a good life....waffle waffle waffle. I have just written a book one of two...The other is M.E related. This one is fiction you could argue both are if you was a doc but you would have no sound basis for your nonesense. Yes of course I am annoyed. I enjoyed writing the fiction and surprised myself with my own skills. I didn't think I had the imagination for such a thing. Since proof reading (currently ongoing) I have realised me grandma aint not so good. But work in practice eh!. And but nobody told me speech marks have been stolen, who did that and what for. ?!!!. Same reason I guess kids cannot do maths.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Well all general skills I have, so I can pass on those. I have some natural/herbal skills developed from curing myself. The Irish landscape is full of possibilities, as its full of unspoilt areas and plants. I am from the UK, so for me the natural aspects of Ireland are simply amazing, UK by comparison is septic. If this area where I live was in the UK it would have SSI protection. I can't describe its natural beauty.
    The area is also full of antiquity..having hundreds of sites/old settlements/Kings residence/the larger lochs having Crannogs. My village has a raised bog section one of only 3 in Irleand with its own unique biodiversity. A feature they intend to make more of in the near future.
    The loch is close enough for daily swims and the water on sunny days can get rather warm. Thou I prefer it cold.
    Anyone into fishing its fishing heaven.
    40 mins away Is Ashford Castle and the town of Cong..John Wayne and Moreen O'Hara filmed the quiet man.
    The Castle is stunning and so is Cong, thou in reality a small village on the point of 3 rivers.
    This a quiet place....with opportunities not far away. And I will be happy to take folk to places of choice. On days off. The three lamps is the ceramic material I make. Unique in the world. Currently don't have time to do much at all. Wish that were not so. I have extensive knowledge of antique furniture, and can point out a wrong un or an age to within 5 years as a rule. I can paint badly. I can also draw but do not. I also worked in graphology, which I still find fascinating. (Thou out of practice). I have always loved life , never get down never been down, dont do down. I am very very very rarely sad and that would last seconds, and my mind moves a mindy thing. I can also rattle on a bit. PMA I could teach just about everyone.

  • Aide


    General gardening skills, hard landscaping, planting..grass cutting, hedge cutting, A small dry stone wall..building of, thou in reality it will be mortared . Digging out a space for a workshop......the site is on a slope, thus soil and stone removal. So some fitness would be be good. But not essential.
    House..general maintenace to bring the house to scratch..painting skills plastering skills...plasterboarding...flooring sanding and preparations. Dismantling a wood store....etc.
    I need practical help and can direct that help.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    The bedrooms are upstairs and may be in part repair...(interior decoration). so are basic. The house has all basics cons but nothing exciting. Large lounge and reasonable sized kitchen. I cook well for the most part. Happy to have help. I am not vegetarian. But happy to cook same.Bathroom and shower is downstairs. The garden is sweet, natural section to the rear with trees. Breakfast lunch and tea and anything else can be self made. In case I get a Hungry horse. Just dive in the fridge.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The local area has a myriad of walks/lochs. Towns are typically irish with little to shout about. I expect a barbie or 2 in the garden and I can take folk to selected places, jointly agreed. The coast in every direction is a just a different sort of stunning. Swimming/surfing is the norm. I will make sure their stay isnt limited to my garden. My house is a calm place and has that feel . I am a calm knowledgeable intelligent man with lots of patience ...thou I do tell bad jokes. I also have a friend with transport at small cost. (evenings). I can show basic ceramic/sculptural skills if interested, thou I dont yet have a workshop. And I can relay the l,ocal flora and fauna with herbs and plants that have therapeutic properties. I cured a very complex auto immune using my own recipe regime, thus have reasonable knowledge. The Irish landscape is abundant with useful herbals. Many within a very short walk..
    I am a safe place for any ladies on their travels thou the house is basic , so one would maybe need to consider that. I would like a mix of folk, so any gender is fine. As is any age. As I have been totally (incapacitated ) (years) disabled in the past, I understand any issues that might restrict how helpful someone could be. That isnt a problem. I'm not a man with a whip...but can be arranged if appropriate. Im joking .!
    I make sure folk see the local are and beyond I mean thats why they here ain't it !!.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Campervan can be parked outside the boundary as that lands still belongs to me. Or can be parked on front garden.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 688427745966