Volunteer to help with chickens, cats and gardens on our beautiful off-grid/private boat access only island in British Columbia, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 255 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Hello! My name is Sharon - I am am self-employed and travel across Canada to teach Thai Massage courses.

    My husband Craig and I live on an off-grid, island property, at Brigade Bay, Gambier Island in Howe Sound, British Columbia, Canada on just over 6 acres of pristine wilderness.

    One of my passions is gardening and Herbal Medicine and since the purchase of our property 14 years ago, I began creating some medicinal herb gardens here on the island, in addition to an organic vegetable garden.

    You will love the simplicity of our lives here. There are no distractions, except for when the deer show up to graze on our grass, or when we have 20+ hummingbirds buzzing around a feeder.

    We are specifically looking for a couple, who would like to come and stay on the island and look after our chickens, cats and gardens while we are away, travelling for a week at the end of August. We would like for you to arrive several days before we leave, so that we can show you around and teach you everything that you need to know about the house, animals, etc.

    You will be staying in a one room cabin with wood stove and have access to our house kitchen, bathroom and BBQ.
    You will be provided with all of the food for your meals and will be responsible for making your breakfast, lunch and dinner. Because we have no stores on the island, we like to have our Workaways provide us with a detailed grocery list well in advance, so that we can shop for everything they wish to have on hand.

    There are many bird species here and some that briefly migrate through the area. We have bald eagles year round. We have water access property, but are high enough up on a bit of a hill, with wide open views. If you are working close to where our house is, you will enjoy the spectacular views of the ocean and mountains just about everywhere you look. When it comes to having some 'down' time, we have a nice pergola style shelter that is furnished with hammocks and benches and a gas fire pit. A great place for a nap or to catch up on some reading after your work day has ended.


    - We have two cats, so if you have allergies or dislike cats, this won't be a good match for you. We also have free ranging chickens up by our house.

    -When we host our Workaways, it is the hottest time of year here and often, the work is in the full sun. Please be prepared with hat and clothing protection and lots of sunblock. The work is both very hot and sweaty, as well as rewarding. Workaways should be in good, strong physical condition and used to working outdoors in all weather.

    - We are non-smokers and request non-smokers only. We are sociable, yet private individuals. We can appreciate people wanting to have fun, but do not want individuals making loud noise past 10PM. We do not tolerate inebriation or any kind of drugs.

    SIGHTSEEING OPPORTUNITIES FOR YOU OFF-ISLAND: We tend to go into the village of Squamish or sometimes into Vancouver one time per week, depending on weather, to go grocery shopping. You are welcome to join us for the trip in to the city to do some sightseeing. There is a nice hike area on the way to Squamish - called the Chief - where we could drop you off and then pick you up once we are finished our shopping for the day. There are a multitude of things to do in Vancouver: rent a bike or walk around the Seawall, experience a Hop On, Hop Off Double Decker Bus Tour, go for a hike at one of the nearby mountains, shop the famous Robson Street, experience the many artsy vendors and foods at Granville Island - or rent a kayak!

    We are also happy to drive you to Horseshoe Bay, which is only 15 min. from the Lions Bay Marina, where we boat to. From Horseshoe Bay, you can catch a Ferry that is going to Bowen Island (only 30 min. by Ferry) - a great place to hang out for the day! You can go on as a 'foot passenger'. It is a charming place, with some interesting shops and restaurants that you can walk to.

    Horseshoe Bay Ferries can also take you to the 'Sunshine Coast' (60 min. on the ferry) if that is one of your destinations. There are lots of camping and hiking opportunities there. You might be able to hook up with a tour bus, or rent a car to tour around. Horseshoe Bay also has many regular buses that can take you to many other parts of Vancouver.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Workaway Volunteer(s) who comes to stay with us will get to enjoy being immersed in pure nature. It is not too often that a property can seem so remote and untouched, yet is so close to the city and other must-see places in the surrounding areas. That said, please come prepared for all kinds of weather conditions - we live in a rain forest, so you can probably expect to have to work in some rain from time to time.

    It really is a very special place on the island here - a place to enjoy nature and to remove oneself from the bustle of busy city life. This is a great place for star gazing, hiking, beach combing and swimming in the ocean. I would describe our setting as peaceful and 'chill'. Our beach and ocean has small rocks and no sand, so some sturdy water shoes are recommended.

    It is wonderful to see how all of our animals can co-exist with each other - cats getting along with baby chicks and deer feeding out of our hands, while chickens gather to see if they can get a treat as well. It's a lot of fun here!

    What we do NOT have here on the island:
    -No banks or ATM's
    -No stores
    -No restaurant
    -No hospital or medical clinic
    -No postal service

    We we DO have on the island:
    -Limited Internet and cell phone services
    -Dirt roads with no stop signs
    -Hiking trails

  • Aide



    General Maintenance & Help with Gardens:

    - We are looking for individuals who are 24+ years of age. Ideally, we would like to host a couple, as it can get pretty lonely here on the island, all by yourself. The chores are enough that it is best shared with another person.

    - Help with looking after our 13 free ranging chickens, daily cleaning of the coop and feeding. Looking after our 2 precious cats and giving them lots of love. Daily watering of gardens. It would be ideal if our Workaways could also chop and stack some wood, if there is time.

    -Our Workaways should have lots of real wilderness camping experience and be prepared to travel with suitable outdoor wear, for when our weather gets wet or cold.

    -Regarding Cooking: We will need our Workaway Volunteers to be responsible for making their own meals, but we will be providing you with all of the food that you like for this.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    You will be staying in a 1-room cabin for a few days with wood stove and blow up mattress. For meals, you may prepare your meal with our barbeque and eat in the cabin. Once we are away on vacation, you can move into the spare bedroom of the main house while we are gone.

    You will be using our house bathroom and shower, plus kitchen, which is just across the driveway from the cabin.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    If you want to do some sightseeing before or after your Workaway with us, there are plenty of world famous places to go that are close by. From the Lions Bay Marina, where we pick you up, we are a mere 30 min. to Squamish - a rock climbing paradise, with some wonderful hiking trails. It is 60 min. to the famous Whistler mountain range with lots of hiking, heli skiing, windsurfing, golfing and mountain biking trails. It is 15 min. to Horseshoe Bay to catch Ferries to the Sunshine Coast, Bowen Island and Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. It is 40 min. to downtown Vancouver.

    We are happy to drive you to the Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal area, where there are numerous buses departing for areas all around the Vancouver area as well.

    Because there are no stores on the island here, we do all of our provisioning in Squamish - we will work on ensuring we can supply our Workaways with all of their favourite foods for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, every day while we are gone on vacation

N° de référence hôte : 676294199865