Get creative with some garden projects & help with our furry family near Farnham, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 520 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.02.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    838

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NO SINGLE TRAVELLERS! PLEASE READ THOROUGHLY BEFORE APPLYING!

    With restrictions due to be lifted soon, come and spend a fabulous Spring/Summer here in Surrey.

    Love dogs? Chickens? Being outside? Great - please read on!

    If you like being outside then this would be a great opportunity for you and your 'other half' or friend. We live in a beautiful part of Surrey, surrounded by countryside and our own 12 acres of garden/woodland and in any weather, it's absolutely GLORIOUS!

    We have ambitions to really get to grips with our organic veggie patch (we'd love to experiment & grow mushrooms) and to clear a large overgrown old veggie patch to create a wildlife pond. Our house is next to a private fishing pond & we often have ducks and geese flying over, we hope that we can create our very own wildfowl area to encourage them in. We also would like to clear some woodland and create wildlife areas & woody walks and we will soon be starting work on a large playground/wildlife area in part of the back garden, so lots to get our teeth stuck into with a little help :-).

    We have five dogs that love the attention of our Workawayers & we might ask for you to occasionally walk them, brush them or feed them for us. We like help to keep our house clean and there will be a little bit of ironing. We also have two furry cats (that tend to live outside) & 10 chickens! A love of animals is a MUST! Our dogs ADORE having Workawayers here :-)


    We are within a short walk of two great pubs The Barley Mow pub on the cricket green (a leisurely ten minute stroll from us) and the Duke of Cambridge, which serves great food. We are also on the edge of a vast common which is wonderful for walking (we have dogs we can lend you!) or mountain biking (you will have your own mountain bikes to use). There are tennis courts at the end of the lane which can be available if you like to play.

    I am sorry but we cannot accommodate any pets. In the past we would have had multiple Workawayers here including solo travellers, but as we can now only host two people at a time, it makes sense that it's couples or friends. This is quite a remote spot so bring someone who you get on well with, ha ha!

    Do not apply if you have a cat allergy.

    We look forward to hearing from you!


    ********************************************************************************************


    We (Rory and Liz) are property developers and work from home so we are usually around for a chat. We live in a busy house (well, it was a lot busier before Covid!) and we like to laugh and have fun - life is too short not to! We love travelling (in a 'normal' year!) and hearing about other countries and cultures.

    We live in a lovely village, an hour from London by train or car & 90 minutes drive from several seaside resorts including Brighton. Our nearest town is Farnham, quite a pretty Georgian market town. Our nearest City is Guilford which has a lot to offer.

    If you need to escape, our previous Workawayers have sussed out the local busses although if you have your own transport, that would be even better. We are of course happy to give a lift into Farnham or to the station to catch a train, our Workawayers often go away for the weekend from Friday mid afternoon to Sunday night to places such as Brighton, London or Oxford. Please note that this is country living! We have one village shop which is a 12 minute walk away - this is slow paced living!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can offer a real sense of space and tranquility rarely found these days. There is something quite magical about our place in the country :-)

    We have really enjoyed having Workawayers here since August 2017 and look forward to meeting new people and having lively conversation over dinner :-) Please don't apply if you are shy and don't speak English very well - we love having Workawayers here and the more interesting they are, the more we like it :-) We are widely travelled ourselves so love to chat about that along with the differences between our cultures.

    We tend to find that this opportunity works best for Workawayers who have experienced the workplace and living independently. People who are used to following instruction, having responsibility and managing their own home.
    Life skills basically - so that’s what we look for when selecting from our applicants.

    Pre Covid/lockdown we have in the past taken Workawayers on day trips to the seaside or the New Forest, StoneHenge or the cinema. We keep them advised of local events such as farmer's markets or food fayres, & take them with us if we are going. Not so easy during Covid times sadly .... how life has changed but hopefully by the Spring/Summer the outlook will be much brighter, just like the weather!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would love your help with some of these projects:

    - maintaining our grounds
    - organic veggie patch
    - clear a large overgrown old veggie patch to create a wildlife pond
    - create our very own wildfowl area to encourage ducks and geese
    - clear some woodland and create wildlife areas & woody walks
    - create a playground area

    If the weather is wet we try to find indoor tasks, there's always something that needs doing as we have a large house, lots of animals & 12 acres of land.

    We tend to use WhatsApp for communication when not face to face. It works well :-)

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We can now offer accommodation in our beautiful & cosy mobile home - ‘Mable’, She has a double bedroom plus a second bedroom, an open plan living room with dining area fully kitted galley kitchen with oven hob and microwave, bathroom with toilet, basin & shower. She is double glazed with central heating. WiFi and TV. We have located Mable in a tranquil part of the grounds with no immediate neighbours - just you, the field and the birds.
    It is your responsibility to keep Mable clean in your own time. There is a no smoking rule inside.
    You are likely to get a visit from Atticus one of our cats, he's particularly partial to our Workawayers & Mabel:-)

    Half your day will be spent doing tasks & the other half of the day is yours to explore the local area, go up to London or simply chill & do nothing. We are very flexible over hours. - if you want to juggle things so that you can have a three day weekend, that's fine with us. What I'm saying is that this experience is what you decide to make it - if you think it's luxury living then you will be disappointed , if you think it's something completely different - very rural, basic, heaps of nature, adoration by our animals, good food & lots of fun, then you won't be disappointed.

    You are welcome to join us for a meal one evening a week. We tend to 'eat clean' (Liz is vegetarian and likes to eat plant based meals) and we prefer to prepare fresh wholesome meals. We will ask you each week for a shopping list or drop you at a supermarket with some money so you can fetch your own groceries. You will fix your own breakfast/lunch and evening meal six nights a week. If you ever fancy cooking and eating with us, that's cool! Or maybe make pudding one evening .... We do spend a lot of time chatting with our Workawayers as we love to learn about their country, work experience etc., the cultural exchange is of great interest to us.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Hopefully we've covered everything but don't hesitate to ask if you have any questions. It goes without saying that we want you to love animals as much as us and to fully appreciate this opportunity, you'll need outdoor boots, wet weather gear, be pretty fit, have a desire to be active and a sense of humour. A good standard of English both verbal and written is necesssary. Minimum stay is 5 weeks, 8 weeks is better. We may ask you to take a Covid test before your arrival.

    Do read our reviews to see what other Workawayers have thought of their stay including the negative one - sadly those people were Walkawayers not Workawayers, they didn't read our profile properly & were totally unsuitable for the opportunity available. Only apply if you completely understand the description of life here & what we are looking for :-)
    And remember COUPLES ONLY OR FRIENDS ONLY.

    We look forward to hearing from you! 😬

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (4.6)























N° de référence hôte : 676175119963