Come try out the homesteading livestyle!! in North Carolina, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 116 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.03.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 22 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

     

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Okay - So first and foremost, due to lack of work ethic from several volunteers... I feel the need to say this... We work hard. This is NOT A free ride... You will get a scheduled and know the days you are obligated, but do expect to work during your time here, then you are free to do what you wish. But you will be required to put in your time here..
    -phew- if your still here... :)

    Hello and Welcome!!

    My name is Emily. I am a twenty something environmentalist hippie with a cowgirl twist. I have a small farm or "farmette" in central North Carolina. Our Farm is at its creation state of becoming a self sufficient, zero waste non profit for at risk youth. We have a lot of fun, and I am very passionate about this lifestyle and I want it to be a positive experience for all the volunteers that come to stay.

    The family consists of three horses, two dogs, a few ferments, and lots of wildlife. I am hoping to get fowl in the near future, and maybe a few cats. :)

    We have several ongoing projects the outdoor projects right now..gardening, training the horses, fermenting, cross fencing the pastures for efficient crop and livestock rotation, and building projects.

    We also have several indoor projects, all homesteading related. Ferments, canning, dehydrating... sewing!!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travelers will learn about working with animals, building, gardening, and environmentally conscious living. We will learn how to do things the most efficient, economical, and environmentally friendly way! Travelers should expect to learn as much as they want to absorb! :)

    They will learn to challenge themselves, improvise, and think outside the box.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    All volunteers are required to have a driver's license(for at least two years) a working active cell phone, able to lift 50 pounds, and an eccentric, "can-do" attitude.

    We eat very healthy and clean! :) This means very little sugar and processed foods. Please be prepared to help with food preparation, cleaning and organizing.

    We work hard, but we play hard also! I expect my volunteers to have a similar work ethic, we work rain or shine!

    Please :: I have accomplished everything I have, and everything I own by myself, I have been without family since I was a teenager, and I have worked very hard please keep this in mind and be respectful!

    We have several projects going on at any given time, depending on the weather. We do our best to work with the elements and not against them and projects can change during any time so a great deal of flexibility and an outdoorsy demeanor are crucial! :)

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Currently there are living accommodations of a small tent or a large tent.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are 1 hour from Durham, Chapel Hill, and Raleigh, which are all college towns with a good art, nightlife and music scene. The beach is about 3 hours away and the mountains 2 hours.

    We are 15 miles from Asheboro, where one of the top 10 zoos in the countries reside.

    Camping and hiking is available at Uwharrie National Forest about 20 miles away.

    We are 15 miles from tourist, pet friendly town of Pittbsoro, where woodworking classes are available, a small art, thrift shopping, and a few local bars and breweries.

    I personally love dancing, live music, exploring and people watching. But I tend to find an adventure in everything I do. I have some cool adventures I've gone on, like a 12 month long road trip around the country with my horses by myself, I would love to hear about your experiences and what brought you to work-away. :)

    Please be advised, no gum, tobacco, nor alcohol is allowed at the Farm. We can grab some drinks at a local brewery, but it will not be brought home.

    Communication is equally important. I want my home to be yours, but we all come from different backgrounds and so communication is important for things to run smoothly. :)

    A few things to make yourself and your host very happy and appreciative of your time and stay...

    Leave your surroundings better than you found them
    have initiative to do things that need to be done..
    Don't be the last to take the rest of the food without asking
    Say please and thank you
    Wait until your host starts eating before you do
    Ask about serving yourself or being served for food and drinks
    Offer to help frequently..
    Clean up after yourself
    Laugh at silly things
    Wake up on time
    Reflect frequently

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







N° de référence hôte : 665753776223