Learn about olive harvesting in the heart of Abruzzo, Italy

  • Italie
  • Enregistré comme favori 195 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 févr. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    *** THANKS to everyone who wrote and took part of the project. See you next year. ***

    We can also host for a week ( but at least 8 days) but we need to know the exact period to let also other volunteers to participate to our project.

    We live in a hilly area in the open countryside in the heart of Abruzzo at about 400 meters above sea level. My mom Angela lives there and takes care of the maintenance of the house and gardens with passion and dedication, trying to preserve the local peasant traditions.

    Viviamo in una zona collinare in aperta campagna nel cuore dell'Abruzzo a circa 400 metri di quota. Mia mamma Angela vive li e cura con passione e dedizione la manutenzione della casa e degli orti cercando di preservare le tradizioni contadine del posto.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will learn how to make pizza, cook with local products and according to traditional recipes such as pizzas and leaves typical dish of the Chieti area. Living in contact with unspoiled nature having the possibility of trecking in the hilly area ( Fara San Martino) and also the possibility of going to the sea (trabocchi coast San Vito Chietino) which is only 25 km by car from the house and have the possibiity to cycle along the wonderful bike track "La ciclabile della costa dei Trabocchi).

  • Aide


    This year for olive harvesting, we are organizing two groups (one in morning from around 8.30am and the other group in the afternoon from 1.30pm. If a volunteer helping in the morning wants to stay also in the afternoon he will be free to decide.
    During the harvest food will be provided. Sometimes dinners have to be prepared by volunteer as we don't sleep near the harvest area. But during helping days, food will be provided. When you have your free time, food will not be provided.
    It is important to keep the room clean during your stay.

    There is no internet connection.
    Very important : the fireplace can't be used for security reasons and is not allowed to smoke in the room, only outside.

    Important to know about olive harvesting. The olive harvesting activity depends on the weather forecast. During harvesting if it starts raining we must stop and continue the next day or perhaps after two or three days if the soil is still wet. So is a flexible activity sometimes we can work 5 hours sometimes more than five or less etc ......
    We can host the first two volunteers for 15 days and other two volunteers for other 15 days.

    we are engaged in the olive harvest for the making of organic extra virgin olive oil. - soil cleaning - pruning of fruit trees - cutting of wood for heating - help with tailoring - cleaning of the house and common areas - watering of flowers and vegetables - painting and ordinary maintenance - care of the chicken coop and organic egg collection
    At the moment we are only looking for volunteers for olive harvesting and some light maintainance around the house.

    Le attività da svolgere riguardano:
    - da fine ottobre a metà novembre, siamo impegnati nella raccolta delle olive per la produzione del nostro olio extravergine BIO.
    - pulizia dei terreni
    - potatura degli alberi da frutta
    - taglio legna per riscaldamento
    - aiuto lavori di sartoria
    - pulizia casa e aree comuni
    - innaffiare fiori e ortaggi
    - tinteggiatura e manutenzione ordinaria
    - cura del pollaio e raccolta uova biologiche

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Italien: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    we are accepting volontaires of all nationalities that al least understand a bit of italian....anche solo Buongiorno va bene ;). ......

  • Hébergement


    The big room with a kitchen in the corner where you will be sleeping is on the ground floor and has 3 single beds and has an independent entrance of the cottage. The small bathroom is OUTSIDE

    There are also other families that live in this cottage. (please no loud music after 9 pm) It is located in a country side and there is a food shop at half an hour walk (about 3 km) and a butcher that also sells cheese at about 20 minutes walk (about 2 km).

    This year we can accomodate directly on the spot where we will be Olive harvesting.
    We can host only two volonteers at once, that will share the same room, where there is also the kitchen.
    There is a SMALL BATHROOM OUTSIDE. There is a shower with hot water. Important to know about the boiler that heats the water for the shower. The boiler has to be switched on 2 hours before the shower and then has to be SWICHED OFF when nobody uses it. Of course if two persons need hot shower, you must wait half an hour from a shower and another shower so it can get warm again.
    During the harvest at lunch time we will be eating together.
    Sometimes at dinner we will be eating together, other times you will have to prepare your meal. Food will be provided for the evening only during harvest days.
    At the end of day we leave and we will see each other next day.
    Important: as there is neighbor upstairs is not allowed listen to high volume music and arrange parties.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a space outside the house where a caravan could be parked but as the area is shared with another neighbor we must ask before we can accept

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We live in the countryside. There are cats but we can accept workaway with small 🐕🐕

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week

N° de référence hôte : 646351839753

Feedback (18)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with gardening and renovating in Liguria, Italy
Help reorganise our garage and with gardening in Cassinino PV, Italy