Join us and help with improving a wooden mountain cabin in the Carpathians while exploring Romania

  • Enregistré comme favori 12 fois
  • Activité récente: 3 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    We are Darius (RO) and Csenge (HU), living in a wooden cabin in the mountains, 50 km from Cluj-Napoca with a beautiful panoramic view of the city.

    Currently our mission is to renovate this cabin and make it as a little heaven on Earth, far from the noises of the city. We want to offer people the opportunity to escape from the rush of their everyday life, to relax and breath fresh air from the mountains, to connect with nature and to recharge their batteries.

    This place is pretty off-grid, isolated from the city, but not from people, since there are other cabins in my neighborhood.

    I (Darius) live here constantly and Csenge goes away weekly, because of her duties, except summer. This means the work is done mostly by the two of us or solo, which can be pretty exhausting, We both are artsy persons, who like to do things with their hands, arts and crafts, painting, building, sewing, making videos and all that jazz.

    Darius (RO)
    I've been living in England for a while and been traveling around the country during that time and I always liked to hear the stories of different people. Since I've been back to Romania and have settled here, I've been thinking about ways to meet new people whom we think alike. I find this cultural exchange a very good opportunity to offer people from around the world the chance to discover different cultures in Romania, how we live together in this multicultural place and experience how is to live remotely in the mountains, with all its beauty and difficulties.

    Csenge (HU)
    I've been living in different countries such as Scotland, Malta, Poland... and the list goes on and been traveling in the past years around Europe. I settled in Romania, which is also my home country, in 2018. Since then I haven't had the time to travel due to my projects here. Similar to Darius, I find this opportunity a good choice to get a glimpse of "traveling" even if it's by the stories of travelers. At the moment I am a belly dance instructor and teacher for kids.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn about local culture and how it is to live off-grid in the mountains of Romania.
    Each zone in Romania has its own habits and you are welcomed to explore them, which you can do by yourself or we can also plan trips together.
    Also, it will be a good opportunity to have the experience of living in the mountains, to learn about its' beauties and difficulties, hard and good times, highs and lows, where you'll be developing your coping and problem solving skills.
    We are an ethnically mixed couple, Darius is Romanian and Csenge is Hungarian. We are happy to introduce you to our lives and share our experiences about multicultural life.

  • Aide


    IMPORTANT! We can only accept volunteers who can stay at least 2 weeks. When sending your request, please introduce yourself, why you want this opportunity, your skills and experiences. We know it is appealing to stay in the mountains for a couple of weeks, but living in the mountains can be though sometimes, so please be conscious about your decision, since we can only accept people who are aware of this.

    WE live in a cabin in Muntii Apuseni, near Cluj-Napoca. We want to renovate it and prepare it to be ready for renting and we need some help with this, especially when Darius is alone. Any volunteer who chooses to come here is requested to help with the followings:
    -building the fence, terrace, grill, garage etc.
    -some general maintenance that we need in everyday life such as chopping wood, cutting grass and anything that may appear by the time
    -grinding wood
    -building concrete foundation, pillars, alleys
    -to cook (mostly for yourself)
    -to paint (the fence, the house itself, bathroom etc.)

    It can also be a great PLUS if you have skills in managing social media and have ideas about how to promote this place in the future. Also, you can bring your creativity and think of something on how to make it special and unique. You are welcomed to share your ideas, to brainstorm and you can have free hands in this, BUT you also need to help in the things mentioned above.

  • Langues parlées

    Romanian: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    The cabin has 5 rooms, 2 bathrooms (just one of them has shower), shared kitchen and a living-room.

    At the moment only one of the rooms is available to accept volunteers. This room has a king-sized bed and a wardrobe. This is a great opportunity for couples or friends traveling together or for those traveling solo.

    Volunteers are welcomed to use anything in the house. Please keep in mind that we'll live together in the same house and also need to share things such as the kitchen, living-room and the bathroom with the shower and the objects in the house, so every person needs to keep things clean. You'll also have your intimacy in your private room, where you'll also sleep.

    The house has all the facilities fridge, micro, oven etc., WiFi, but NO TV.

    Don't forget that we are in heights, so even thou it is summer, you'll need warm clothes, because it gets chilly by afternoon and night. You are also requested to bring your personal items and would be ideal to be equipped for at least two weeks.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    -- TRANSPORT --
    The cabin where we live and you'll stay is 50 km away from Cluj-Napoca, in the mountains in 1120 height. It is only possible to approach it by car. There are other localities and villages closer than Cluj-Napoca, the closest is 4 km distance, in the valley, so it's a good idea to either have your own car or at least a driving license.
    -In your FREE TIME if you want to go to explore the area, or you need to go shopping or just want to go to the city you need to manage it by yourself. We are not able to provide a lift at any time you want to arrive at a destination, but of course you're welcomed to join us whenever we need to leave for the city as well.
    -For all the volunteers who aren't traveling by car, we can provide transport from the airport of Cluj-Napoca or from any train/bus station to our place.

    From the near villages there are bus rides you can go with to Cluj-Napoca and from there you can go anywhere, since there are pretty good connections with other cities.

    -- FREE TIME --
    -In your free time you can do whatever you want.
    -If we can synchronize our plans we can offer you a lift to other places
    -Also we are open to make plans together and go for example on road trips, hiking or introduce you to local culture. These plans need to be scheduled in advance.
    -Hours required 4/5 a day, weekends are off

    1. The surrounding nature, mountains, hiking routes
    2. Local castles, palaces and history related places
    3. The Monastery of Muntele Rece
    4. Dams of Tarnita
    5. City of Cluj-Napoca

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Since we live in the mountains the electricity service is not that good quality so there are times when it's cut off and that's when it gets pretty off grid.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans


  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 646166926746


Help us build a cob house and learn about traditional techniques in Piatra, Romania
Keep company for the elderly and help around the house in Arad, Romania