Come and help around our happy little homestead along the Yukon River, Canada

Country

Canada

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 118 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.07.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    Thanks for checking out our listing! We had been on hold for a while because of Covid but are ready to get going again and have the ability to host people during their 2 week quarantine on the property and beyond. We look forward to hosting guests once again!

    My 5 children, ranging in age from 9-17, and I live 25 minutes north of Whitehorse right along the Yukon River. We have 6.5 hectares of beautiful land where we raise chickens, ducks, goats and pigs.

    We have space for 1 or 2 people to come and stay with us anytime throughout the year. You can stay 1 week or 1 month or maybe even longer if it works out! Almost everyone who has stayed with us has extended their visit by at least a few weeks ....which we love!

    You will be provided with your own comfortable private cabin which has power, limited wifi, a 2 burner propane stove, a mini-fridge, portable water and an outhouse. The cabin is set up for cooking and you will look after most of your own meals.

    You will have access to recreational equipment while you are here - canoes, kayaks, bikes, skis and snowshoes. We will also provide rides into town a few times per week so you can explore Whitehorse and go shopping.

    In return we ask for your help each weekday for 3 hours/day in order to prepare food, help with kitchen and household management and assist with farm animal chores. We are flexible around timing and will chat with you about what works best with the other things you want to do while you are here.

    We are a very busy on-the-go family. There is always lots going on here, from homeschooling, chores, competitive sports and activities, caring for livestock and of course finding time to have fun and go on adventures. There is rarely a dull moment and though we wouldn't trade it, having an extra hand helping out just makes things that much better!

    You would fit in well with us if you find yourself to be adaptable, hard working and enjoy trying new things. You should be comfortable working independently and taking initiative. And of course enjoying the outdoors, exploring new places and playing the odd board game or jumping on the trampoline with a crew of awesome kids will help too!

    Well, that is all for now! Please pass along any questions you may have and please note that because we're new to using this site we don't have any references yet. - but if you'd like one, we have some from another other help exchange program we use.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you haven't experienced the Yukon, you will be in for a treat! In the winter you will enjoy the clear, crisp air and the beautiful northern lights and bright starry skies. There are ski trails all around our property and the wonderful Takhini Hot Springs, Bean North Cafe and Yukon Wildlife Preserve are all very close by (you could bike there if you wanted). You can also find opportunities to go dog mushing, take out a skidoo, go downhill skiing and enjoy a drive through the stunning Yukon / Alaska mountain pass. In the summer, the Yukon River becomes so inviting and accessible for boating, fishing and swimming and is right next to our property. There are hiking and biking trails all around and different lakes, rivers and mountains to explore. We encourage you to make the most of this beautiful area full of culture, wilderness and interesting people. You don't have to be an outdoor enthusiast to enjoy the Yukon or staying out of town at our property - this area is so culturally diverse with such a rich and interesting history. There are museums, art centers, festivals and events available for you to enjoy all through out the year. We will happily include you on our family day trips and will point you in the right direction for whatever type of adventure you are looking to find! We hope to get to share our love for the Yukon with you!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We always have a lot going on and are pretty happy to get help in many different forms. Top of the list is always helping with the animals - feeding them and mucking out their sheds and sort of the same thing for our family too ....preparing dinners during the weekdays and cleaning up the kitchen and living space. If you are handy, there are always projects to be done and if you enjoy spending time with children, we have 5 who love company. Breakfast and lunch are on your own and some dinners can be shared together if you are happy to help cook over at our house.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a private cabin that has a bunk-bed, couch, dinner table, propane heat, bar fridge, power, 2 burner propane cook stove and limited access to wifi. Water is brought into the cabin in 5 gallon jugs and drained down the sink into an outside waste bucket. There is an outhouse for your use just outback of the cabin and you are welcome to shower in the main house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a vehicle available for your occasional use.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have space to accommodate camper vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 Hours / Day on Weekdays

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











N° de référence hôte : 635743646565